related library guides
*
Beginning Research
= internet resource requiring Stanford IP address | Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy
Introduction to recent scholarship "Historigraphy and Major Issues . . ." pp. 269-284 In American Indians in the Early West ![]()
BASIC HANDBOOKS, SURVEYS, ENCYCLOPEDIAS Handbook of North American Indians; Encyclopedia of American Indian History
; American Indians in the Early West
; Treaties with American Indians: an encyclopedia of rights, conflicts, and sovereignty
; Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of America
; Hoxie, F. (1995) "Native Peoples of the Americas" in vol. 2 of The American
Historical Association's Guide To Historical Literature, 3rd ed
; and many more
IDENTIFY
articles and other citations in America History and Life
; Bibliography of Native North Americans ![]()
HISTORIOGRAPHY Indigenizing the academy: transforming scholarship and empowering communities (2004); Natives and academics: researching and writing about American Indians (1998); So You Want to Write about American Indians?
READ American Indian
Quarterly, Wicazo
Sa Review, News from Native California, and other
e-journals
; fulltext independent and tribal publications of Indian nations in Ethnic
Newswatch
; three microform collections contain the text of about 350 Native
American periodicals (through about 1981). The individual titles that comprise
these sets should be listed in Socrates. There is a cumulative alphabetical
listing of titles.
- American Indian Periodicals in the Princeton University Library, Parts 1. MFILM n.s. 3669
- American Indian Periodicals in the Princeton University Library, Parts 2. MFILM n.s. 607
- Periodicals by and about American Indians 1923-1981. MFILM n.s. 10252
- American Indian Periodicals from the State Historical Society of Wisconsin. MFILM n.s. 7783, 13 reels of film and guide
SEARCH mainstream news coverage of native issues; Editorializing "the Indian problem": the New York Times on Native Americans, 1860-1900; historical news coverage in:
- California Digital Newspaper Collection Searchable facsimilies of selected California newspapers, including the Daily Alta California (1850-1890) and The Call
- Los
Angeles Times Historical (1881-1986)

- San Francisco Chronicle Historical (1865-1922)

- California Newspaper Microfilm Archive & California Newspaper Project Searchable catalog of nearly 9,000 California newspapers
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers

- America's historical newspapers: featuring Early American newspapers, 1690-1922
- U.S. Newspapers on Microfilm and Paper Copies in Special Collections, Stanford University Libraries
RESEARCH NA
primary source material at Stanford
IDENTIFY US federal congressional materials and legislative histories from 1789 to the present in Congressional
Universe
EXPLORE the internet:
- gateways
-
The Multicultural West: Indigenous Peoples, Conquest and Resistance (WSU)
Native American Sites (Native American Library Association) - NativeWeb. Gateway to information sources on native peoples worldwide.
- Center for
World Indigenous Studies
Code Talk. All of the federal agencies who operate Native American programs have sponsored an information- sharing network for, and about, Native Americans -
- selection of other sites
- California Indian Library Collections
- List of Native American Indian Tribes and Languages
- Mending the Circle: A Native American Repatriation Guide from the American Indian Ritual Object Repatriation Foundation
- Muwekma Ohlone Indian Tribe
- North
American Indian Thought and Culture
contains
over 119,000 pages of text
and images. Included are
biographies, auto-biographies,
personal narratives, speeches,
diaries, letters, and oral histories

-

Loading...
