Databases
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Coverage is from 1965 to the present
- Alt-PressWatchAlt-PressWatch is a full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses, a library licensed resource from ProQuest.
- Alternative Press IndexThis is a licensed database for Stanford Affiliates. Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change.
- ERICThe Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC). ERIC, established in 1966, is supported by the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Educational Research and Improvement, and the National Library of Education"
- Global healthGlobal Health - Part of Web of Knowledge and CAB Abstracts.
- IPoll : Roper Center Public OpinionIPoll is a comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion. A full-text retrieval system, the iPoll online database is organized at the question level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys, 1935 to present. Surveys archived in the Roper Catalog were originally gathered by academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup Organization, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, and many mo
- ProQuest Statistical Insight Provides statistical data from U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and international organizations from 1983
- PolicyFilehttp://www.policyfile.com/
PolicyFile is a licensed resource provide by the library. This database covers U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature, with abstracts and links to the latest reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies. - Political Science - SAGE Journals Onlinehttp://online.sagepub.com/collection.dtl?coll=POLI
This is a licensed resources for Stanford affiliates only. - PsycInfoContains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law
- ScirusScientific research tool on the web. With over 450 million scientific items indexed at last count, it allows researchers to search for not only journal content but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material.
- SCOPUSScopus is the largest abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN)Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is composed of a number of specialized research networks in the social sciences.
- Sociological Abstracts - via PROQUESTSociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
- SociologySage Journals Online
- Urban Studies AbstractsUrban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Journal of Urban Affairs, Urban Studies, and Canadian Journal of Urban Research
- WolrdcatFor finding books on your topic at multiple libraries
Additional Databases - Added 9/13/2011
ADDITIONAL DATABASES:
- Annual reviewsSelect your coverage area under Journal and then search for your topic.
- AnthropologyPlusAnthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteOffers information from over 600 journals in communication, mass media and related fields; includes abstracts, indexing, bibliographical citations and author profiles, as well as full text from more 240 titles.
- Environmental Science and Pollution ManagementThis multidisciplinary database, provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 1500 scientific journals and thousands of other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
- Ethnographic Video OnlineIntended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video.
- RILM abstracts of music literatureA comprehensive, ongoing guide to publications on music from all over the world, with abstracts written in English.
- Web of scienceProvides access to the Science citation index expanded from 1900 to the present , Social sciences citation index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & humanities citation index from 1975 to the present.
- WorldcatUnion Catalog of over 9,000 member institutions.
Gov Docs & Country Info
- C.I.A. World Factbookhttps://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html
- Congressional Quarterly Electronic Library
- EIU Country Data - Economist Intelligence UnitLicensed resource available to Stanford community only. Economist Intelligence Unit Country Data
- Eldis - Country Profileshttp://www.eldis.org/go/country-profiles
Eldis has country profiles as well as a database of full-text documents. Eldis is based at the Institute of Development Studies (IDS) in Brighton, United Kingdom. - Government Documents Research Assistance At StanfordWeb pages by Government Documents Librarian, James Jacobs.
- Library of Congress Country Studieshttp://memory.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html
- U.S. Dept. of State - Country Profileshttp://www.state.gov/misc/list/index.htm
U.S. Dept. of State - Country Profiles

Loading...
