This is the "Home" page of the "Chemical Engineering 80Q" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chemical Engineering 80Q  

Last Updated: Apr 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.stanford.edu/chemeng80q Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Updated version of this guide

Content in this guide is being migrated but there is a lot of unique content in each version so you might want to view both.  The new version is at: http://library.stanford.edu/guides/art-chemistry-and-madness-science-art-materials

 

SearchWorks

Try SearchWorks

SearchWorks, the Stanford University Libraries and Academic Information Resources next generation library catalog, makes it very easy to limit results to online resources.

Databases

  • AATA Online: Abstracts of International Conservation Literature
    AATA Online is a comprehensive database of over 100,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage. Provided by: Getty Conservation Institute.
  • Analytical Abstracts Stanford only  
      
    Analytical Abstracts is the premier current awareness and information retrieval service for analytical scientists. Search the worldwide analytical literature conveniently and rapidly, covering the period from 1980 until the latest update. Updated monthly.
  • Annual Reviews Stanford only  
      
    Annual Reviews publishes authoritative, analytic reviews in 42 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature. Updated continuously, covers 1932-present.
  • BCIN: Bibliographic Database of the Conservation Information Network
    BCIN is the Web's most complete bibliographic resource for the conservation, preservation and restoration of cultural property. A worldwide network of libraries and documentation centres contribute data on their combined holdings, including previously unavailable material from private sources, to the BCIN database. BCIN now contains nearly 200 000 citations, including the first 34 volumes of the Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts (AATA), published between 1955 and 1997.
  • Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)  
      
    Covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Abstracts are in French or English, or French and English. BHA indexes and abstracts a full range of international scholarly publications, including books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealer catalogs, and journal articles. Covers 1973 to 2007.
  • CAMEO: Conservation and Art Materials Encyclopedia Online
    CAMEO is a searchable information center developed by the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. The MATERIALS database contains chemical, physical, visual, and analytical information on over 10,000 historic and contemporary materials used in the production and conservation of artistic, architectural, archaeological, and anthropological materials.
  • Forbe's Pigment Database
    The Forbes’ Pigment Collection contains over 1000 colorants assembled by the late Edward Waldo Forbes, former Director of the Fogg Art Museum at Harvard University (1909-1945). These colorants have been analyzed widely by most of the labs and thus the goal of this database is to provide one central, searchable, readily-accessible location for the compilation of any available information from all sources.
  • International Bibliography of Art Stanford only  
      
    Covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Abstracts are in French or English, or French and English. IBA indexes and abstracts a full range of international scholarly publications, including books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealer catalogs, and journal articles. Coves 2008-present.
  • Museology Bibliography (BMUSE)
    Referenced material in BMUSE includes over 25,000 journals, journal articles, books, and reports published from 1900 to the present. It brings together holdings from many international sources, including the UNESCO-ICOM Museum Information Centre, the Library of the Canadian Conservation Institute (CCI), and the Library of the Direction des Musées de France (DMF). The database will be expanded to include material from other international repositories of museological literature.
  • Raman Spectroscopic Library of Natural and Synthetic Pigments
    Raman microscopy is now established as the technique that is most specific, sensitive, spatially refined and immune to interference for the non-destructive, in situ analysis of historical artifacts. Sixty-four common pigments, both natural and synthetic, known to have been in use before ~1850 AD, have been studied by Raman microscopy. Fifty-six pigments have yielded high quality spectra and these have been arranged here, by colour, into a spectroscopic library for reference purposes.
  • SciFinder web Stanford only  
      
    One-time registration (required) to create personal login ID. SciFinder is the most comprehensive coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. It has the world’s largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. 1907-present plus important scientific discoveries from mid-1800s. Updated daily.
  • Web of Science Stanford only  
      
    Search over 9,200 core journals across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research. Move backward/forward in time using cited/citing reference identified by researchers. Updated weekly, covers Sciences 1900-present, Social Sciences 1956-present, and Arts and Humanities 1975-present.
 

Course Description

CHEMENG 80Q: Art, Chemistry, and Madness: The Science of Art Materials

Preference to sophomores. Chemistry of natural and synthetic pigments in five historical palettes: earth (paleolithic), classical (Egyptian, Greco-Roman), medieval European (Middle Ages), Renaissance (old masters), and synthetic (contemporary). Composite nature of paints using scanning electron microscopy images; analytical techniques used in art conservation, restoration, and determination of provenance; and inherent health hazards. Paintings as mechanical structures. Hands-on laboratory includes stretching canvas, applying gesso grounds, grinding pigments, preparing egg tempera paint, bamboo and quill pens, gilding and illumination, and papermaking.

Chem & Chem Eng Libn

Profile Image
Grace Baysinger
Contact Info
Swain Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Library
650-725-1039
Send Email
 

Feedback/Suggestions

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip