related library guides
- Art & Archtecture
- Medieval
- Philosophy
- Religious Studies
- History of Science & Technology
parallel library
Cambridge surveys online
Cambridge Companions Online
- Aegean Bronze Age
- Age of Augustus
- Age of Constantine
- Age of Justinian
- Age of Pericles
- Ancient Greek Law
- Ancient Greek Political Thought
- Ancient Rhetoric
- Greek Lyric
- Greek Mythology
- the Greek and Roman Novel
- Greek and Roman Philosophy
- Greek and Roman Theatre
- Greek Tragedy
- Herodotus
- Homer
- Horace
- Lucretius
- Ovid
- the Roman Historians
- the Roman Republic
- Roman Satire
- Tacitus
begin research
= internet resource requiring Stanford IP address;
= external link | Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy
SEARCH L'Annee philologique
(APh) indexing and abstracting virtually all publications related to classical antiquity. The database currently contains the listing from volume 20 (1949) to the present (coverage is about 3 years late of current publications). Abbreviations Used in L'Annee Philologique
| Dissertation Abstracts
| Google Scholar & other indexes
JOURNALS Online & BACKSETS in JSTOR
| Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists ![]()
IMAGES FOR TEACHING AND PUBLICATION: Downloadable digital images (APA)
| Art Library Images
TIMELINES: Oxford timeline of the Ancient World ![]()
GREEK & LATIN TEXTS
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Tlg, a Digital Library of Greek Literature, primary sources covering Greek literature from Homer until 1453 A.D. - Perseus Digital Library

- Patrologia Latina
texts of the Church Fathers and other writers from Tertullian to the Third Lateran Council 1216. - Library of Latin Texts
derived from the authoritative editions of the ongoing Corpus Christianorum, and other sources, from the late 2nd century to the 15th century - Lectrix
integrates selected works of Greek and Latin literature with commentaries from the Cambridge Greek and Latin Classics - Jacoby Fragmente der griechischen historiker | Brill's Jacoby Online

- Translated Texts for Historians E-Library

other early editions
- Early English Books Online
Reproduces works listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-title catalogue (1475-1640) & Wing's Short title catalogue (1641-1700) - ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online

- Google Book Search

- Digital papyrology: Greek Fragments in the Stanford Classics Department Collection
GREEK & LATIN LANGUAGE
Some Latin resources on the web:
- Lewis & Short Online
(Perseus Project) - The Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (English-Latin)

- The Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (Latin-English)

- Database of Latin Dictionaries
(Brepols). Choose "Advanced Search" for list of dictionaries - Allen & Greenough's New Latin Grammar
(Perseus Project) - A Glossary of Rhetorical Terms

Some Greek resources on the web:
- Henry George Liddell. Robert Scott. A Greek-English Lexicon revised and augmented throughout by Sir Henry Stuart Jones. with the assistance of. Roderick McKenzie. Oxford. Clarendon Press. 1940.
(Perseus Project)
BACKGROUND INFO/REFERENCE
- Cambridge Companions Complete Collection (see list left)

- Der Neue Pauly
& its updated English language ed. New Pauly online 
- Blackwell Companions to the Ancient World Online

- Dictionnaire des antiquités grecques et romains d'après les textes et les monuments, rev. ed. 1877-1919

- The Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilization (DARMC)

- Indo-european Etymological Dictionaries Online. Leiden, the Netherlands: Brill

- Oxford Classical Dictionary 3rd ed.
Via Past Masters - The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium

- The Oxford Handbook of Plato

- The Oxford Handbook of Presocratic Philosophy

- The Oxford Handbook of Roman Studies
- Oxford Reference Online: Classics
including
- Wikipedia

CLASSICS AT STANFORD
The primary research collection is shelved in Green Library stacks. The Raubitschek Room, named in honor of the late professor emeritus Antony E. Raubitschek, is located in Room 351, Green Library East. It brings together the primary texts of Greek and Latin epigraphy and papyrology, together with the necessary secondary and reference literature. This collection does not circulate.
The Department of Special Collections is home to a large body of early printed books relevant to the history of classics as a discipline and to the reception of ancient texts in modern Europe. The department has extensive holdings of first and early editions of classical texts published by Aldus, the Estienne family, Froben, and other Renaissance printers and illustrated editions of all eras; it also collects heavily in the early secondary literature of the classics.
Purchase requests to rawlingsatstanford.edu
web sites and gateways
"Rome Wasn't Digitized in a Day": Building a Cyberinfrastructure for Digital Classicists by Alison Babeu.
Classics departments at other universities:
- University of California, Berkeley
- UCLA
- University of California, Santa Barbara
- University of Chicago
- University of Texas at Austin
- University of Michigan
- University of Pennsylvania
- Duke University
- Brown University
- Princeton University
- Harvard University
- University of Toronto
Other resources:
- Greek & Latin Classics Internet Resources (Library of Congress)
- Perseus Project (Tufts University)
- Electronic Resources for Classicists (UC Irvine)
- The Rome Project (The Dalton School)
- Rassegna degli strumenti informatici per lo studio dell'antichità classica
- The Classics Collection Page
- Internet Resources for Classics
- The Vergil Project
- Roman Law
Blackwell Companions online
= recent additions
- A Companion to Ancient Egypt
Edited by: Alan B. Lloyd -
A Companion to Ancient History
Edited by: Andrew Erskine -
A Companion to the Ancient Near East
Edited by: Daniel C. Snell -
A Companion to Archaic Greece
Edited by: Kurt A. Raaflaub and Hans van Wees -
A Companion to Aristotle
Edited by: Georgios Anagnostopoulos A Companion to Byzantium
Edited by: Liz James-
A Companion to Catullus
Edited by: Marilyn B. Skinner -
A Companion to the Classical Greek World
Edited by: Konrad H. Kinzl -
A Companion to Classical Receptions
Edited by: Lorna Hardwick and Christopher Stray -
A Companion to the Classical Tradition
Edited by: Craig W. Kallendorf -
A Companion to Greek and Roman Historiography
Edited by: John Marincola -
A Companion to Greek and Roman Political Thought
Edited by: Ryan K. Balot -
A Companion to Greek Religion
Edited by: Daniel Ogden -
A Companion to Greek Rhetoric
Edited by: Ian Worthington -
A Companion to Greek Tragedy
Edited by: Justina Gregory -
A Companion to the Hellenistic World
Edited by: Andrew Erskine A Companion to Horace
Edited by: Gregson Davis-
A Companion to Julius Caesar
Edited by: Miriam Griffin -
A Companion to Late Antiquity
Edited by: Philip Rousseau -
A Companion to Latin Literature
Edited by: Stephen Harrison -
A Companion to Ovid
Edited by: Peter E. Knox -
Petronius: A Handbook
Edited by: Jonathan Prag and Ian Repath -
A Companion to the Roman Army
Edited by: Paul Erdkamp -
A Companion to Roman Britain
Edited by: Malcolm Todd -
A Companion to the Roman Empire
Edited by: David S. Potter -
A Companion to Roman Religion
Edited by: Jörg Rüpke -
A Companion to the Roman Republic
Edited by: Nathan Rosenstein and Robert Morstein-Marx -
A Companion to Roman Rhetoric
Edited by: William Dominik and Jon Hall - A Companion to Socrates
A Companion to Vergil's Aeneid and its Tradition
Edited by: Joseph Farrell and Michael C. J. Putnam

Loading...
