This is the "Home" page of the "Classics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Classics  

Last Updated: Mar 22, 2013 URL: http://libguides.stanford.edu/classics Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

related library guides

  • Art & Archtecture 
  • Medieval 
  • Philosophy
  • Religious Studies
  • History of Science & Technology 
      

    parallel library



    tools of the trade

    = internet resource requiring Stanford IP address; http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png = external link | Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy.

    Many of these databases & corpora are also listed on the SUL Database page for "Ancient Greek and Roman Culture" < http://searchworks.stanford.edu/databases >

    VADE MECUM, INTRODUCTION TO THE SOURCES inter alia Schaps, D.  Handbook for Classical Research, 2011 | Goldberg, S.; Wheeler, S. Tools of the Trade: Bibliographies for Roman Studies, 2011 http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.pngOxford Handbook of Hellenic Studies, 2009 | Oxford Handbook of Roman Studies, OUP, 2010 | A Companion to the Classical Greek World, Blackwell, 2006

    AUTHORS & TEXTS   Dictionary of Greek and Latin Authors and Texts & abbreviations for Ancient Authors and Titles of Works from New Pauly online | The TLG Canon of Greek Authors and Works http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png contains over 12,000 bibliographical records and is regularly updated | Kristeller, Cranz, and Brown. Catalogus Translationum Et Commentariorum: Mediaeval and Renaissance Latin Translations and Commentaries: Annotated Lists and Guides | Reception of Classical Literature

    SEARCH L'Annee philologique Stanford 
only (APh) indexing and abstracting virtually all publications related to classical antiquity. The database currently contains the listing from 1924 to the present (coverage runs about two years behind). The valuable Index nominum antiquorum, Index geographicus, and Index nominum recentiorum found in the printed volumes have no equivalent in the online database. Abbreviations used in L'Annee Philologique http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png  (with links to journal entries in the UCB online catalog). Search Dissertation Abstracts Stanford
 only | Google Scholar http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png & other indexes

    JOURNALS Online/in print | BACKSETS in JSTOR Stanford
 only | Thematic Index of Classics in JStor http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png  Abbreviations used in APh http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png  with links to journal entries in the UCB online catalog > request journals from UCB via RLCP

    INTERLIBRARY BORROWING  borrow books and journals not owned by Stanford

    IMAGES/OBJECTS: Downloadable digital images (APA) http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png | Art Library Images | Arachne (Deutsches Archäologisches Institut) http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png  provides archaeologists and Classicists with a tool for quickly searching hundreds of thousands of records on objects and their attributes

    NEW BOOKS & BOOK REVIEWS Bryn Mawr Classical Review 1990-

    TIMELINES: Chronologies of the Ancient World -- Names, Dates and Dynasties | Oxford timeline of the Ancient World Stanford
 only

    ONLINE TEXTS/TEXTUAL SEARCHING

    other early editions

    Stanford

    GREEK & LATIN LANGUAGE

    Stanford Library guide to Latin dictionaries   

    Some Greek resources on the web:

    • LSJ: The Online Liddell-Scott-Jones Greek-English Lexicon (TLG)
    • Henry George Liddell. Robert Scott. A Greek-English Lexicon revised and augmented throughout by Sir Henry Stuart Jones. with the assistance of Roderick McKenzie. Oxford. Clarendon Press. 1940. http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png (Perseus Project)
    • Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Stanford 
only
    • Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) Stanford 
only has digitized most surviving literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Constantinople in 1453 CE, and beyond. All bibliographical information and a subset of the texts are available to the general public.
    • Etymological dictionary of Greek

    HANDBOOKS, GUIDES, ETC

     CLASSICS AT STANFORD

    The primary research collection is shelved in Green Library stacks. The Raubitschek Room, named in honor of the late professor emeritus Antony E. Raubitschek, is located in Room 351, Green Library East. It brings together the primary texts of Greek and Latin epigraphy and papyrology, together with the necessary secondary and reference literature. This collection does not circulate.

    The Department of Special Collections is home to a large body of early printed books relevant to the history of classics as a discipline and to the reception of ancient texts in modern Europe. The department has extensive holdings of first and early editions of classical texts published by Aldus, the Estienne family, Froben, and other Renaissance printers and illustrated editions of all eras; it also collects heavily in the early secondary literature of the classics.

    Purchase requests to rawlingsatstanford.edu

    CLASSICS AT UC BERKELEY Classics/Art History Library Classics Resources http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png | Abbreviations used in APh http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png  with links to journal entries in the UCB online catalog > request journals from UCB via RLCP

          

        Blackwell Companions online (partial contents)

        None = recent additions

        1. A Companion to Ancient Egypt
          Edited by: Alan B. Lloyd
        2. A Companion to Ancient History
          Edited by: Andrew Erskine
        3. A Companion to the Ancient Near East
          Edited by: Daniel C. Snell
        4. A Companion to Archaic Greece
          Edited by: Kurt A. Raaflaub and Hans van Wees
        5. A Companion to Aristotle
          Edited by: Georgios Anagnostopoulos
        6. None A Companion to Byzantium
          Edited by: Liz James
        7. A Companion to Catullus
          Edited by: Marilyn B. Skinner
        8. A Companion to the Classical Greek World
          Edited by: Konrad H. Kinzl
        9. A Companion to Classical Receptions
          Edited by: Lorna Hardwick and Christopher Stray
        10. A Companion to the Classical Tradition
          Edited by: Craig W. Kallendorf
        11. A Companion to Greek and Roman Historiography
          Edited by: John Marincola
        12. A Companion to Greek and Roman Political Thought
          Edited by: Ryan K. Balot
        13. A Companion to Greek Religion
          Edited by: Daniel Ogden
        14. A Companion to Greek Rhetoric
          Edited by: Ian Worthington
        15. A Companion to Greek Tragedy
          Edited by: Justina Gregory
        16. A Companion to the Hellenistic World
          Edited by: Andrew Erskine
        17. None A Companion to Horace
          Edited by: Gregson Davis
        18. A Companion to Julius Caesar
          Edited by: Miriam Griffin
        19. A Companion to Late Antiquity
          Edited by: Philip Rousseau
        20. A Companion to Latin Literature
          Edited by: Stephen Harrison
        21. A Companion to Ovid
          Edited by: Peter E. Knox
        22. A Companion to Plato
        23. Petronius: A Handbook
          Edited by: Jonathan Prag and Ian Repath
        24. A Companion to the Roman Army
          Edited by: Paul Erdkamp
        25. A Companion to Roman Britain
          Edited by: Malcolm Todd
        26. A Companion to the Roman Empire
          Edited by: David S. Potter
        27. A Companion to Roman Religion
          Edited by: Jörg Rüpke
        28. A Companion to the Roman Republic
          Edited by: Nathan Rosenstein and Robert Morstein-Marx
        29. A Companion to Roman Rhetoric
          Edited by: William Dominik and Jon Hall
        30. A Companion to Socrates
        31. None A Companion to Vergil's Aeneid and its Tradition
          Edited by: Joseph Farrell and Michael C. J. Putnam
            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip