Related Guides
syntax
history of English
Cuturomics
; "Quantitative Analysis of Culture Using Millions of Digitized Books"
(Science)
http://www.sciencemag.org/![]()
The following reviewed by Donka Minkova in Language 85,4 (2009): p. 893-907. ![]()
2. Available to Stanford-affiliated users at: site.ebrary.com
Beginning Research
= internet resource requiring Stanford IP address | Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy
Search Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
for articles from 2,000 journals, recent books, dissertations | MLA international bibliography
| Dissertation Abstracts
| Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature ![]()
Read articles in linguistics e-journals, search by journal title
| CLS (Chicago Linguistic Society) online ![]()
Journal backsets from JSTOR
browse Linguistics
Corpora Stanford's resources ![]()
Look up background information and survey articles online
- Oxford Bibliographies Online

- Annual Review of Applied Linguistics

- Blackwell's Linguistics Reference Online

- Cambridge handbook of code-switching
2009 - Cambridge handbook of child language
2009 - Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics (Elsevier)

- Encyclopedia of the Languages of Europe. Blackwell Publishing, 2000.

- Handbook of Psycholinguistics
2006 - History of the language sciences: an international handbook on the evolution of the study of language from the beginnings to the present
2000- - International Encyclopedia of Linguistics (OUP)

- International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences

- Language and Linguistics Compass: A journal of peer-reviewed survey articles from across the discipline
- Lexicon grammaticorum: a bio-bibliographical companion to the history of linguistics

- MIT Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science: Linguistics & Language

- Morphologie: ein internationales Handbuch zur Flexion und Wortbildung
2005 - Quantitative Linguistik: ein internationales Handbuch
2005 - Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

- Wikipedia

Consult other reference books in the Information Center and on the web
Explore the internet:
- A Stanford linguistics portal

- The LINGUIST List: Web-Accessible Linguistic Sources, Departments, and Information

- The Human-Languages Page

language data, corpora, online archives
- Cuturomics

- Stanford's Corpora Resources

- Ethnologue
An encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world’s 6,912 known living languages. Ethnolgue print is shelved in the Info Center P106.E8. - The world atlas of language structures
WALS is a large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars). The print and CD-ROM version is located in the library. - Association for Linguistic Typolgy databases portal

- Linguistic Data Consortium | Corpus Linguistics by Michael Barlow
- National Gallery of the Spoken Word | Collins Cobuild The Bank of English
| Old English Corpus
| Middle English Compendium
selection of online archives: - ASEDA: the Aboriginal Studies Electronic Data Archive
(Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies) - AILLA: The Archive of Indigenous Languages of Latin America
(U. Txas Austin) - Langage, langues et cultures d'Afrique noire / Bibliography for African Languages and Linguistics
(CNRS) - Dictionary and Bibliography of South American languages
(Alain Fabre) - Bibliography of South Asian languages
(John Peterson)
sociolinguistics & applied linguistics
- Language Policy
(J.W. Crawford) - Less Commonly Taught Languages
| Language Varieties
pidgins, creoles, regional dialects, minority dialects and indigenized varieties - Center for Applied Linguistics | NCELA
National Clearinghouse for English Language Acquisition and Language Instruction Educational Programs
Stanford: Linguistics dept.
| CSLI ![]()
John Rawlings, rawlings@stanford.edu (650)723-3101
Collection Development Policy | Acquisitions details 2006
New subscriptions and enhancements 2008-2009 and current cost
|
FY2009
|
FY2010 | |
| Applied Linguistics |
$352.73
|
|
| CLS |
$200.00
|
|
| Language and Linguistic Compass |
$841.66
|
|
| Speech Communication |
$1281.00
|
|
| Word Structure |
$271.41
|
|
Blackwell handbooks online
= coming soon; check catalog for print edition
- Encyclopedic Dictionary of Applied Linguistics
- The Handbook of Applied Linguistics
- The Handbook of Bilingualism
- The Handbook of Child Language
- The Handbook of Clinical Linguistics
- The Handbook of Contemporary Semantic Theory (1997)
- The Handbook of Contemporary Syntactic Theory (2003)
- The Handbook of Discourse Analysis
- The Handbook of Educational Linguistics
- The Handbook of English Linguistics
- The Handbook of Historical Linguistics
- The Handbook of Japanese Linguistics
- The Handbook of Language and Gender
The Handbook of Language and Speech Disorders
The Handbook of Language Contact
The Handbook of Language Teaching
- The Handbook of Language Variation and Change
- The Handbook of Linguistics
- The Handbook of Morphology
- The Handbook of Phonetic Sciences
- The Handbook of Phonetic Sciences: Second edition
- The Handbook of Phonological Theory
The Handbook of Pidgin and Creole Studies
- The Handbook of Pragmatics
- The Handbook of Second Language Acquisition
- The Handbook of Sociolinguistics
- The Handbook of Speech Perception
- The Blackwell Companion to Syntax
- The Handbook of the History of English
- The Handbook of World Englishes
- The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Writing Systems

Loading...
