This guide assists you in preparing research evaluating your entrepreneurial venture.
- Business Source Complete
Full-text business journals, including Harvard Business Review as well as EIU, ICON reports.
Full-text newspapers, trade journals, and newswires. Includes Wall Street Journal (Jun 13, 1979-)
- ABI-INFORM Global
Full text business/management articles.
- MarketResearch.com Academic
Reports by Packaged Facts (consumer goods), Kalorama Information (health science), Specialists in Business Information, Simba Information (media industry), Executive Summaries, and MarketLook Reports.Jump-Start Guide
- Datamonitor Reports (via Business Source Complete)
For industry profiles, add "marketline" in your search keyword; For MarketWatch or company reports, add "datamonitor" to your search.
- First Research (via ABI/INFORM)
Includes industry overview, recent developments, challenges, opportunities, call prep questions, etc.
- Lux Research
For current Stanford community; Not to be redistributed to any 3rd party.
Market research reports, company information, etc., for following industries: nanomaterials, solar, alternative power & energy storage, water, bIofuels & biomaterials, targeted delivery, green building.Note: 4 simultaneous users
- Alternative Energy eTrack
For current Stanford community
News, deal information, company profiles, and reports. Note: No downloading feature for our subscription.Jump-Start Guide
- Capital IQ
- Current GSB faculty, students, and staff: use SUNet ID (First time users need to request an account)
(NOTE: From 6/30 to 8/31, MBA/PhD student access only available via a shared account in Traders Pit.)
- Others: Access in Traders Pit of the Business Library
Provides financial information on companies, private equity, etc.
- Thomson ONE (IE Browser only)
NOTE: In IE browser, increase disk space for temporary Internet files to 1024MB.
(Go to: Tools > Internet Options > General: Browsing history: Settings > Disk space to use: 1024)
Company financials, earning estimates, market data and stock quotes, PE firms, etc. 20 simultaneous users
Spreadsheet Link (Excel Add-in) available on designated computers in Traders Pit of the Business Library. Spreadsheet Link User Guide
- LP Source Basic
Access in Makena Capital Traders Pit of the Business Library
Profiles active limited partners and other investment firms, including investment criteria, allocation targets, preferred industries, fund histories, executives, etc. Jump-Start Guide
Previously published: Galante's Venture Capital & Private Equity Directory
and Directory of Alternative Investment Programs
- Derwent Innovations Index (Str)
Using information from 41 patent-issuing authorities, DII facilitates rapid, precise patent searching, letting you conduct patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering. Updated weekly, covers 1963-present.
- Google Patent Search
Covers over 7 million patents granted by the United States Patent and Trademark Office. Also offers an Advanced Patent Search
page, which allows one to search by patent number, title, inventor, date, etc.
- U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Patent Database
Full-text U.S. patents since 1976, full-page images since 1790.
- Foreign Country Patent Databases
A listing of databases compiled by the Swain Library, Stanford University.
- Patent Search Tutorial
In this tutorial developed by Stanford Biodesign you will learn how to use government and other patent searching sites to ensure that your invention meets the specifications needed to file a patent and succeed.
For specific industries, consult these guides: