Skip to main content

Database Guide: FactSet

How to Access

Go to Databases A-Z and click on "FactSet".

Access restricted to current Stanford community and requires SUNet ID and FactSet to login.

Content Coverage & Description

FactSet offers comprehensive data and analytics on global financial and economic markets and companies. Data coverage includes:

  • Financial data on 70,000+ public and private companies worldwide with historical coverage for developed markets from 1980s and for emerging markets from 1990s
  • Close to 2,000 historical financial metrics data items for 70+ countries
  • Historical financial data on 5,000 global indices, as well as fixed income, commodities, alternative investments markets and more

How to Search

Factset database

FactSet offers flexible, easy-to-navigate search options through its interface. Use either of the following methods:

  • Search Search at the top and enter term and select area to search.
  • Browse by selecting tabs and their respective sub tabs from top bars. 

FactSet Workspace is customizable. Not all available components are displayed on your default Workspace.

Printing, saving, exporting: click respective icon on top toolbar.

Support Resources

On the launch page, the Learn More About Factset window provides learning opportunities. Select Live Training Calendar for online training schedule.

Click dropdown at upper right to view application help pages.

Typical Questions Answered by Factset

  • How to find analysts’ estimates and research for companies
  • How to find historical prices for commodities, currencies, or fixed income indices
  • How to benchmark company’s performance against major indexes
  • How to find full-text earning calls transcripts
  • How to create a list of VC firms invested in biotech companies over the past 10 years
  • How to find proxy fight information