Education Industry
Introduction
The following resources can be used to research the education industry including sub-topics like edtech, corporate learning, and online learning.
While these resources are generally the most relevant, there may be other resources available. If you are looking for something in particular or cannot find a lot of information about a niche segment, please Ask Us.
Education Industry & Market Reports
These databases contain market & industry reports. They provide overviews of the industry as well as the intended market or end consumer.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowU.S., Global, and China industry reports that cover industry performance drivers. Includes a US Industry Wizard to create lists of industries.
Help: IBISWorld search help
- MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new windowOur subscription ends April 29, 2024. See other market report providers.
Global market reports from providers including Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, and Simba Information.
Additional Resources
More Industry Sources
In addition to industry and market reports, there are many other ways to analyze an industry, gain insights, and find relevant statistics and data.
Statistics Databases
These databases contain industry statistical data in tables or charts. They're a good place to start as they collect information from many sources.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistics on many topics, industries, and markets. Use the Source tab on the chart page to track down more data. Go to Insights > Consumer Insights to get country-level consumer behavior and brand preference data.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowStatistical data from U.S. government publications (1973-), state government and private sources (1981-), and international organizations (1983-).
Associations & Regulators
Industry associations and regulators (both in governments and independent agencies) often have great information. Look for sections on their websites like "Resources", "Publications", or "Data," but note some resources may be restricted to members.
Examples of education industry associations and regulators are below.
United States
- National Center for Education StatisticsSelect Data and Tools section for comprehensive US government databank of statistics related to education on all levels: Pre-K, K-12 public and private, colleges. Statistics on educators and university faculty, extensive data on international students assessments and programs. Go to the Menu at top and select reports-type sections, such as Annual Reports (yearly analysis on state of education), Fast Facts etc.
- Institute of Education Sciences (IES)Statistical and research branch of the U.S. Department of Education. Offers reports on the state of national education (Nation’s report card) and links to other government statistical datasets, such as NCSER (National Center for Special Education Research).
- National Student Clearinghouse Research CenterComprehensive reports and data on multiple aspects of postsecondary education.
- American Educational Research Association (AERA)Contains reports analyzing the educational issues from the socio-economic point. Search under Education Research tab at top.
Global
- Education Statistics (EdStats)Education statistics portal of the World Bank that provides analysis and data on key topics in education (access, completion, policies, expenditures, etc) by countries.
- UNESCO Databases of Resources on EducationInternational data on education includes materials on educational policies, statistics from the UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) and more.
Additional Resources
- College Results OnlineOnline interactive tool for analyzing and comparing US universities by multiple criteria.
Common Topics
The listed resources contain research reports and industry articles on the application of hardware and software tools in education on all levels. For search, use keywords such as "edtech”, “educational technology”, or the specific terms such as “electronic whiteboard”, “videoconferencing”, etc. See also relevant Education Industry News & Publications.
- BCC Research This link opens in a new windowGlobal market reports for many industries, including materials, pharma, medical devices, engineering, and IT.
- CB Insights This link opens in a new windowTracks venture capital (VC) backed private companies and their investors, as well as private company M&A and IPO activities worldwide. "Expert Intelligence Reports" are not available to academic institutions.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: CB Insights accounts| CB Insights search help
- EducauseReports and insights publications with the focus on technology usage in higher education.
- Office of Educational Technology (US Dept of Education)US Government programs related to implementing and expanding technology on all levels of education.
The listed resources contain research reports and industry articles. Use keywords such as "corporate training," "corporate leaning," or if using IBISWorld use "business coaching." See also relevant Education Industry News & Publications.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowU.S., Global, and China industry reports that cover industry performance drivers. Includes a US Industry Wizard to create lists of industries.
Help: IBISWorld search help
- Gartner Research This link opens in a new windowReports relevant to technology, marketing, communications, and HR professionals. Includes market reports, in-depth analysis on issues, trends, and analysis of products on the market in the US and worldwide. Some content/features are not included in Stanford's subscription.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: Learn more about Stanford's access to Gartner from UIT and UHR. - Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistics on many topics, industries, and markets. Use the Source tab on the chart page to track down more data. Go to Insights > Consumer Insights to get country-level consumer behavior and brand preference data.
- Association for Talent Development (ATD)Contains some free research reports. Go to Store > Research Reports.
The listed resources contain research and data on online or hybrid learning. See also relevant Education Industry News & Publications.
- EMIS Intelligence This link opens in a new windowGlobal and emerging market information and market reports for countries or regions worldwide.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
- Educause Online LearingReports and articles on online and hybrid learning, including the PDF edtion of the current Horizon Report, Teaching and Learning edition.
- United States Distance Learning Association (USDLA)Relevant articles, statistics, blogs, for all levels of education under Resources top menu item.
Consumer Discovery
The suggested resources will help you determine population’s demographic, behavioral, social, and economic characteristics in relation to education.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowGet data from sources like U.S. Census, American Community Surveys, U.S. Business Patterns, and World Bank. Includes Market Profile Data from EASI covering U.S. consumers.
Help: Social Explorer Video Tutorials
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowData analysis and mapping tool with U.S. demographic, housing, employment, consumer spending, marketing data from Mediamark Research (MRI), and EASI Lifestage profiles.
Help: Simply Analytics Guide
