Health Care & Wellness Industry
Introduction
The following resources can be used to research the healthcare and wellness industry including sub-topics like healthcare providers, healthcare cost, healthcare IT, wellness, and mental health.
While these resources are generally the most relevant, there may be other resources available. If you are looking for something in particular or cannot find a lot of information about a niche segment, please Ask Us.
Health Care and Wellness Market & Industry Reports
These databases contain market & industry reports. They provide overviews of the industry as well as the intended market or end consumer.
- BCC Research This link opens in a new windowGlobal market reports for many industries, including materials, pharma, medical devices, engineering, and IT.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowU.S., Global, and China industry reports that cover industry performance drivers. Includes a US Industry Wizard to create lists of industries.
Help: IBISWorld search help
- FitchConnect This link opens in a new windowCountry risk ratings, macroeconomic analyses and forecasts, and global and emerging market information and market reports for countries or regions worldwide.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: FitchConnect search help - EMIS Intelligence This link opens in a new windowGlobal and emerging market information and market reports for countries or regions worldwide.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
- Mintel This link opens in a new windowMarket research data and reports for consumer products and services. Many reports include Databooks with consumer survey data. U.S. focused with some global coverage. Create and log into your account to save content and download portions of reports.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Additional Resources
Consumer Discovery / Insights
Number of Medical Procedures and Disease Prevalence
If you're trying to determine the target market for a particular drug, device, or treatment, it can be helpful to know how many people have relevant diseases, conditions, or procedures.
- CDC | Data & StatisticsCovers a wide range of various major diseases. Choose a specific disease from Diseases & Conditions tab.
- HCUPnet Healthcare Cost & Utilization ProjectProvides healthcare statistics and information for hospital inpatient, and emergency departments, as well as a specific diagnosis, surgery, or diagnostic tests.
Mapping & Tables
These tools include data on how many people have a specific disease or condition.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowData analysis and mapping tool with U.S. demographic, housing, employment, consumer spending, marketing data from Mediamark Research (MRI), and EASI Lifestage profiles.
Help: Simply Analytics Guide
Search tip: Select a location then go to the Data tab and select Health > Ailments.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowOnline mapping tool with U.S. demographic, real estate, health, educational, economic, and federal government data.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: PolicyMap Tutorials
Search tip: Choose Health from top level menu > Health Status.
Consumer Behavior & Attitudes
Find out how consumers think about or use healthcare products and services.
- Mintel This link opens in a new windowMarket research data and reports for consumer products and services. Many reports include Databooks with consumer survey data. U.S. focused with some global coverage. Create and log into your account to save content and download portions of reports.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students. - Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistics on many topics, industries, and markets. Use the Source tab on the chart page to track down more data. Go to Insights > Consumer Insights to get country-level consumer behavior and brand preference data.
- Nielsen and NielsenIQ Marketing Data This link opens in a new windowConsumer Panel, PanelView Surveys, Retail Scanner, Ad Intel, PromoData, and Annual Ailments, Health, & Wellness Survey datasets.
For: Current Stanford faculty and PhD students only.
Access: PhD students need to register with their advising faculty. To request access, go to Kilts Center's Marketing Data and select United States > Stanford University from the dropdown list. Each researcher is required to provide Chicago Booth with an annual status report. For questions about access, contact Michael Dula.
- Gallup Analytics This link opens in a new windowGallup's U.S. Dailies, U.S. Social Series, and World Poll data.
Not all variables are available in Gallup Analytics. For complete microdata, current Stanford faculty and doctoral students can contact Ron Nakao.
Additional Resources
Where to Look for Industry Information
In addition to industry and market reports, there are many other ways to analyze an industry, gain insights, and find relevant statistics and data.
Statistics Databases
These databases contain industry statistical data in tables or charts. They're a good place to start as they collect information from many sources.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistics on many topics, industries, and markets. Use the Source tab on the chart page to track down more data. Go to Insights > Consumer Insights to get country-level consumer behavior and brand preference data.
- RKMA Market Research Handbook Series This link opens in a new windowUse these market research handbooks for quick facts and to find more sources. Covers U.S. industries like restaurants, healthcare, sports, and travel.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Associations & Regulators
Industry associations and regulating bodies often have lots of relevant data and reports. Look for sections on their websites titled "Resources", "Publications", "Data". Note that some materials may be restricted to members. Some examples are:
- HFMA - Healthcare Financial Management AssociationUse the Industry Initiatives and Tools sections to find resources.
- American Health Care AssociationContains a lot of data and reports.
- HHS - Health & Human Services Laws & RegulationsLaws and regulations that cover personal health information and rights.
Other Organizations
You can also look for consulting groups and research centers that focus on the health care and wellness industry. Some examples are:
- PwC's Health Research InstititeProvides research and analysis on the major trends affecting the health industry.
- Stanford Medicine's Clinical Excellence Research Center | News & Publications"Our interdisciplinary teams discover, design, and disseminate cost-saving innovations for conditions comprising the bulk of U.S. health care spending."
Additional Resources
Common Questions & Topics
Below are some options for getting information about healthcare providers and/or healthcare systems.
Hospital Data
- American Hospital Association (in WRDS) This link opens in a new windowThe American Hospital Association’s (AHA) annual survey and supplemental data sets provided by Health Forum is the premier database for all information regarding hospitals and health systems. Includes the AHA Annual Survey Database (ASDBs) from 1980-present, the Financial Database (HCRIS sourced) from 2004, and the IT Healthcare Database from 2008.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students for Stanford-related academic research purposes.
Help: WRDS access and search help
Directories & Lists of Medical Providers
You may be able to use an establishment-level business directory to get basic information on medical providers (e.g. locate, name of business, sales estimates, etc.). Top resources at Stanford are:
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new windowWeb platform with current information about millions of public and private companies worldwide. Includes financials, SWOT reports, IT strategy, some industry and analyst reports, and more. See also available D&B historical datasets.
Stanford GSB Alumni: Access D&B Hoovers
Help: D&B Hoovers search help - Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new windowOnline platform containing U.S. business profiles, households, and new business information. From Data Axle. Good for single-look ups and basic screening or creating company lists. For bulk data access, Ask Us for options. Maximum download per search is 275 records.
Stanford GSB Alumni: Access Data Axle (formerly Reference USA)
Alternatively, you can often find directories or industry association membership lists online. If you're planning on doing mass outreach or marketing, you may need to pay for a custom target list with contact information.
Government Sources
Many medical fields are highly regulated, which means you can often get information about medical providers through national, state, and/or local governments. For instance, many states require medical practioners to be licensed and you can typically look up information about licensed professionals online in each state. Florida even allows you to download this data in bulk!
The following are some places to get data on healthcare costs. You could also consider searching academic literature for studies and searching the web for reports by governments, think tanks, consulting groups, and others.
- CDC Health ExpendituresData on a variety of health expenditures such as access to health care, health insurance, life stages, and populations.
- Health Care Cost InstituteAn independent, non-profit research institute looking at issues impacting the U.S. health care system by using data from public and private health insurance market.
- MEPS - Medical Expenditure Panel SurveyMeasures how Americans use and pay for medical care, health insurance, and out-of-pocket spending. Annual surveys of individuals and families, as well as their health care providers, provide data on health status, the use of medical services, charges, insurance coverage, and satisfaction with care.
- HCUPnet Healthcare Cost & Utilization ProjectProvides healthcare statistics and information for hospital inpatient, and emergency departments, as well as a specific diagnosis, surgery, or diagnostic tests.
In addition to many of the resources on this guide, there are additional resources that focus more explicitly on healthcare IT related topics and issues. Some examples are:
- Gartner Research This link opens in a new windowReports relevant to technology, marketing, communications, and HR professionals. Includes market reports, in-depth analysis on issues, trends, and analysis of products on the market in the US and worldwide. Some content/features are not included in Stanford's subscription.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: Learn more about Stanford's access to Gartner from UIT and UHR.
Additional Resources
The health and wellness space isn't well defined but is attracting a lot of attention. In addition the resources listed on this guide, you may also want to check the following:
- Mintel This link opens in a new windowMarket research data and reports for consumer products and services. Many reports include Databooks with consumer survey data. U.S. focused with some global coverage. Create and log into your account to save content and download portions of reports.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students. - Passport This link opens in a new windowIncludes market research data, reports, and consumer trends worldwide for consumer industries.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: Passport access and search help
Additional Resources
If you're looking specifically into mental health care, in addition to the resources on this guide, you may also consider:
Industry & Market
- Mintel This link opens in a new windowMarket research data and reports for consumer products and services. Many reports include Databooks with consumer survey data. U.S. focused with some global coverage. Create and log into your account to save content and download portions of reports.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students. - Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistics on many topics, industries, and markets. Use the Source tab on the chart page to track down more data. Go to Insights > Consumer Insights to get country-level consumer behavior and brand preference data.
Medical Literature
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowJournals, magazines, trade publications, reports, etc., in psychology and related disciplines.
- PubMedMain database for medical journals. For assistance with PubMed, contact the Lane Medical Library.