Telemedicine and Telehealth Industry
Introduction
The following resources can be used to research the telemedicine and telehealth industry.
While these resources are generally the most relevant, there may be other resources available. If you are looking for something in particular or cannot find a lot of information about a niche segment, please Ask Us.
Market & Industry Reports
These databases contain market & industry reports that provide overviews of the industry and the intended market or end consumer.
Telemedicine typically refers to remote clinical services (e.g. video appointments); telehealth is remote clinical services + non-clinical services (e.g. provider training).
Search for terms "telemedicine," "telehealth," or "virtual care."
- BCC Research This link opens in a new windowGlobal market reports for many industries, including materials, pharma, medical devices, engineering, and IT.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowU.S., Global, and China industry reports that cover industry performance drivers. Includes a US Industry Wizard to create lists of industries.
Help: IBISWorld search help
- American Telehealth Association (ATA)Full-text reports, cases, and papers.
Additional Resources
Consumer Discovery / Insights
Number of Medical Procedures and Disease Prevalence
If you're trying to determine the target market for a particular drug, device, or treatment, it can be helpful to know how many people have relevant diseases, conditions, or procedures.
- CDC | Data & StatisticsCovers a wide range of various major diseases. Choose a specific disease from Diseases & Conditions tab.
- HCUPnet Healthcare Cost & Utilization ProjectProvides healthcare statistics and information for hospital inpatient, and emergency departments, as well as a specific diagnosis, surgery, or diagnostic tests.
Mapping & Tables
These tools include data on how many people have a specific disease or condition.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowData analysis and mapping tool with U.S. demographic, housing, employment, consumer spending, marketing data from Mediamark Research (MRI), and EASI Lifestage profiles.
Help: Simply Analytics Guide
Search tip: Select a location then go to the Data tab and select Health > Ailments.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowOnline mapping tool with U.S. demographic, real estate, health, educational, economic, and federal government data.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: PolicyMap Tutorials
Search tip: Choose Health from top level menu > Health Status.
Consumer Behavior & Attitudes
Find out how consumers think about or use healthcare products and services.
- Mintel This link opens in a new windowMarket research data and reports for consumer products and services. Many reports include Databooks with consumer survey data. U.S. focused with some global coverage. Create and log into your account to save content and download portions of reports.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students. - Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistics on many topics, industries, and markets. Use the Source tab on the chart page to track down more data. Go to Insights > Consumer Insights to get country-level consumer behavior and brand preference data.
- Nielsen and NielsenIQ Marketing Data This link opens in a new windowConsumer Panel, PanelView Surveys, Retail Scanner, Ad Intel, PromoData, and Annual Ailments, Health, & Wellness Survey datasets.
For: Current Stanford faculty and PhD students only.
Access: PhD students need to register with their advising faculty. To request access, go to Kilts Center's Marketing Data and select United States > Stanford University from the dropdown list. Each researcher is required to provide Chicago Booth with an annual status report. For questions about access, contact Michael Dula.
- Gallup Analytics This link opens in a new windowGallup's U.S. Dailies, U.S. Social Series, and World Poll data.
Not all variables are available in Gallup Analytics. For complete microdata, current Stanford faculty and doctoral students can contact Ron Nakao.
Additional Resources
More Sources of Industry Info
In addition to industry and market reports, there are many other ways to analyze an industry, gain insights, and find relevant statistics and data.
Use the keyword such as "telehealth", "telemedicine" and "virtual health".
Statistics Databases
These databases contain industry statistical data in tables or charts. They're a good place to start as they collect information from many sources.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistics on many topics, industries, and markets. Use the Source tab on the chart page to track down more data. Go to Insights > Consumer Insights to get country-level consumer behavior and brand preference data.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowStatistical data from U.S. government publications (1973-), state government and private sources (1981-), and international organizations (1983-).
Associations & Regulators
Industry associations and regulators (both in governments and independent agencies) often have great information. Look for sections on their websites like "Resources", "Publications", or "Data," but note some resources may be restricted to members. Some examples are:
- International Society for Telemedicine & eHealth (ISfTeH)Numerous open-access materials such as reports, presentations, publications on telemedicine history, strategies, and more. Access to online Journal of the International Society for Telemedicine & eHealth. From the top menu select Media.
- American Telehealth Association (ATA)Full-text reports, cases, and papers. Go to Resources > Research.
- Agency for Healthcare Research and QualityThis is a website of the US Department of Health and Human Services. Contains multiple resources on telemedicine / telehealth policies, guidelines, data and more. Use a keyword search.
- CDC | Telehealth and TelemedicinePolicies, legal aspects, and publications from the Center for Disease Control and Prevention.
- WHO | Digital HealthGlobal strategies, guidelines, and reports from the World Health Organization.
Additional Resources
Telemedicine and Telehealth Technologies
These resources provide research and information on technological platforms and applications used in telemedicine and telehealth.
- Gartner Research This link opens in a new windowReports relevant to technology, marketing, communications, and HR professionals. Includes market reports, in-depth analysis on issues, trends, and analysis of products on the market in the US and worldwide. Some content/features are not included in Stanford's subscription.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: Learn more about Stanford's access to Gartner from UIT and UHR.
- HealthIT.gov: Telemedicine and TelehealthInformation on technologies and applications from the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.