About
This guide suggests data sources for your regression project.
Not finding the data you need? The first question you should ask is:
Who would collect this information?
General Social Science Data
- The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social ResearchMost frequently requested ICPSR datasets include: crime stats, health and socioeconomic survey, census of population and housing, national election pool, general election exit polls.
Monitoring the future: a continuing study of American youth, and a panel study of income dynamics.
Special Topic Archive includes: health and medical care archive (HMCA) data. - Historical statistics of the United States(Print ed. in Reference Collection: US: STATISTICS)
Demographics, weather, military, etc. - Datapedia of the United States(Reference Collection: US: STATISTICS)
Demographics, crime, education, etc.
Crime Data
- Federal Bureau of InvestigationStatistics at state, metropolitan area, city level
- Check the local police force WebsiteStatistics broken down by area within each city
Health Data
- WHO Statistical Information SystemWorld health statistics, Global Health Observatory (GHO).
- Agency for Healthcare Research and QualityData on the health expenditures of 18,000 U.S. households.
Transportation Data
- TranStatsTransportation statistics covering safety, passengers, infrastructure, energy for aviation, highway, maritime, rail, pipeline, and more.
- Transportation Energy BookProvides data on energy use in vehicles as well as green house gas emissions, vehicles per household. Select statistics back to 1950's.
Weather Data
- NOAAMean temperature and precipitation at national, regional, state, and regional, state, and city level.
Station level data (record of climatological observations). - Climate of San FranciscoSan Francisco weather data.
- Historic Weather DataCME weather data provided by EarthSat.
- Climate Data OnlineNational Climatic Data Center
- NOAA Paleoclimatology
Company Data
- Datastream

For current Stanford community; Access in Makena Capital Traders Pit of the Business Library
Company Financials, Stock Prices, Ratios, etc.
Jump-Start Guide - Thomson ONE (IE Browser only)
Provides 10 years or more of monthly stock price data.
Jump Start Guide - Business Dynamics StatisticsStatistics on establishment openings and closings, firm startups, job creation and destruction by firm size, age, and industrial sector.
Demographics
- Pew Internet & American Life Project Reports on the impact of the Internet on families, communities, work and home, daily life, education, health care, and civic and political life. Latest reports cover trends in who's online, online activities, and Internet adoption.
- Melissa DataVital statistics searchable by county, city, and metropolitan area.
- American FactFinderA wide range of statistics on household income, property values, work status and much more, compiled from the 2000 census. Searchable by state, county, city, or zip code.
- E-STATStatistics Canada's Census of Population and socioeconomic data.
- Historical Statistics of the United StatesThis source has been the standard source for quantitative indicators of American history. This is the Millenial Online Edition.
Education
- National Center for Education StatisticsStatistics compiled by U.S. Dept. of Education
- Chronicle of Higher Education: Facts & FiguresCollege endowments
- Rand California
Choose Databases > Education
School placement test scores.
Global Economic Data
- U.S. Department of LaborLabor statistics such as employment, wages, inflation, productivity, safety, and health issues.
- EIU CountryData
GDP, unemployment rate, sector indices, exchange rates, interest rates, commodity prices, etc.
Quick Guide![[icon - pdf]](http://www.gsb.stanford.edu/images/icon-pdf.gif)
- Global Financial Data

For current Stanford community
GDP, unemployment rate, sector indices, exchange rates, interest rates, commodity prices, etc.
Quick Guide![[icon - pdf]](http://www.gsb.stanford.edu/images/icon-pdf.gif)
- IMF eLibrary Data
GDP, unemployment rate, sector indices, exchange rates, interest rates, commodity prices, etc.
Quick Guide![[icon - pdf]](http://www.gsb.stanford.edu/images/icon-pdf.gif)
- Datastream
For current Stanford community; Access in Makena Capital Traders Pit of the Business Library
GDP, unemployment rate, sector indices, exchange rates, interest rates, commodity prices, etc.
Jump-Start Guide - Bureau of Economic AnalysisGDP, savings & investment, income & employment by industry, and other national income and product statistics.
- China Data Online
Economic statistics of China.
Housing and Property Tax
- Rand California
Choose Databases > Business and Economics
Prices and transactions.
Choose Databases > Government Finance > City Finance or County Finance.
County and city property tax revenues. - Yahoo Real EstateHome sale information
- California State Board of EqualizationProperty tax data
- Economagic.comHistorical data on real estate and housing sales data of the U.S. Census Bureau

![[photo - Jan Driscoll]](http://www.gsb.stanford.edu/jacksonlibrary/images/staff/jan.jpg)
Loading...
