Quick Links to Search Newspapers in ProQuest
Search across newspaper content (including blogs, news articles, videos) in ProQuest at once with the following links.
Note: Additional newspaper coverage is provided in other resources. Date coverage will vary by format and edition.
Searches all US editions and WSJ.com content in ProQuest from 1889-present
Use this link for WSJ international editions (coverage ranges from 1991-2017)
Note: Our subscription to WSJ.com includes access to WSJ Context, a platform that allows you to create and share reading lists of WSJ content for specific courses. Learn more about WSJ Context.
Searches all Washington Post content in ProQuest from 1877-present in a variety of formats
Searches all US editions and NYT.com content in ProQuest from 1857-present
Use this link to also search NYT magazine, book reviews, and international edition (coverage for this extra content ranges from 1990s-present)
How to use the Above Saved Searches
1. Click on the desired newspaper link above
Finding Newspaper-y Type Content In Library Resources
1: Use a search engine to find the original content on the newspaper's website.
- Use clues on the page to help you track it down in a resource in the library. Scan the top and bottom of the page and the URL bar.
- Was it originally published or released on a different date, or with a different title? The text below appears at the bottom of this NYT.com story.
- Is it clear what edition the story was originally published in? Or, are you sure it isn't part of the newspaper's magazine or other related product?
- Is it a blog or other type of non-traditional content? Our coverage of non-news articles is often weaker and limited to more recent content.
- See the below example of an online WSJ article that is a blog and newsletter. This wouldn't appear in the digital versions of the printed newspaper, as it wasn't in the "normal" newspaper! Note how you can see the word blogs in the URL bar and how the hyperlinked text at the top of the article takes you to newsletters.
- You might find multiple entries for the what appears to be the same publication. You might also find multiple providers for those entries (i.e. Factiva and NexisUni). Because they sometimes have varying coverage, it can be helpful to check all the options if you're coming up empty.
Note: Not everything will be in a library resource. You might be looking at something that is only available on the newspaper's online website. If that is the case, look for a shareable or permanent link provided by the newspaper's website. If the content you're trying to find is in a paper with a paywall, you can direct GSB students to create free accounts for some papers (see below).
Newspaper Websites Available for Stanford Users
These links go to newspaper websites you have access to through the libraries. This is a different type of access than that provided in databases like ProQuest.