Retail Industry:
Research resources recommended by your librarian.
Journal & News Articles
-
Business Source CompleteBusiness journals, trade and industry publications, and news and magazine articles from EBSCO. Includes Harvard Business Review. Mobile apps available.
Stanford GSB Alumni: Access EBSCO
-
ProQuest One BusinessOne stop shop for ProQuest business content. Includes eBooks, news and magazines, journals, videos, and reports on companies, industries, markets, and countries. Replaces ABI/INFORM.
Stanford GSB Alumni: Access ProQuest One Business -
FactivaNews articles from the Wall Street Journal (including WSJ Pro), newswires, and thousands of national and local newspapers, magazines, trade publications and transcripts. Also provides selected financial market data and company information.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
-
National Retail FederationArticles from the Stores magazine (ended in 2019). Features the latest ranking lists of the Top Retailers, Specialty Retailers, and Global Retailers, also including online Industry Buying Guide. Also available in print at the Library.
-
Nexis UniGlobal newspapers, journals, wire services, company reports and profiles, SEC filings, case law, government documents, and more. Includes LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations (current and historical company hierarchies, brands, executives, etc.) in the Company Dossier.
Help: Corporate Affiliations help
Statistical Sources
-
Retail business market research handbookComprehensive statistics and detailed market analysis on consumer demographics and spending patterns.
-
California Retail SurveyStatistics on multiple sectors in retail industry on city and county levels in California. Find it @ Business Library
-
eMarketer | Insider IntelligenceMarket statistics and reports related to digital marketing, media, and commerce covering many industries (e.g. financial services, health, etc.).
-
Direct Selling ResourcesInternational Statistic Surveys, Global Retail Sales and Global Sales Force.
Industry & Market Research
-
MintelMarket research data and reports for consumer products and services. Many reports include Databooks with consumer survey data. U.S. focused with some global coverage.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students. -
MarketResearch.com AcademicGlobal market reports from providers including Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, and Simba Information.
-
D&B HooversData about millions of public and private companies worldwide. Includes financials, SWOT reports, IT strategy, some industry and analyst reports, and more. Good for building current company lists.
Stanford GSB Alumni: Access D&B Hoovers
Help: D&B Hoovers search help
-
First ResearchIndustry reports that include an industry overview, recent developments, challenges, opportunities, call prep questions, etc. Most focus on the U.S.
Company Research
-
Capital IQData on public and private companies, financial statements, M&A deals, and executives and boards worldwide. By S&P Global.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students for academic use only.
Help: Capital IQ access & Excel Plugin instructions | Capital IQ search help | Analyst/Equity Reports -
D&B HooversData about millions of public and private companies worldwide. Includes financials, SWOT reports, IT strategy, some industry and analyst reports, and more. Good for building current company lists.
Stanford GSB Alumni: Access D&B Hoovers
Help: D&B Hoovers search help
-
OrbisGlobal public and private company profiles. Best for a small number of company or industry look-ups. Because of its broad coverage, Orbis tends to include fewer variables than regional products. By Bureau van Dijk.
For large-scale data, use Orbis Historical.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: Orbis access instructions.
Technologies for Retail Sector
-
Forrester ResearchFor current Stanford community
Industry Focus on Retail includes reports on US Online Retail Forecast, Multichannel Retail, Online Retail Executive Survey, Online Retail Site Experience, and Retail Marketing: Assessing the Opportunities Presented by Web 2.0 Technologies, etc. -
IDCGlobal IT, telecom, and consumer tech market reports. Our subscription does not include some data products and reports.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Associations
-
National Retail FederationIncludes directory entries for national and international member organizations.
-
Toy Industry AssociationToy Industry Association™, Inc. (TIA) is the not-for-profit trade association for producers and importers of toys and youth entertainment products sold in North America. TIA’s more than 535 toy manufacturers and importers account for approximately 85% of the annual U.S. domestic toy market of $21.6B.*
-
International Council of Toy IndustriesICTI website is a place for discussion and information exchange on trends and issues in the toy industry. You will find resources, statistics, publications and more.
-
International Council of Shopping Centers (ICSC)Inquire about login details at the Business Library.