Developing Economies

GSBGEN 514 Spring 2024; GSBGEN 534 Spring 2024

Company Research

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
If you get an error message when trying to connect, see our Capital IQ access FAQ.

Data on public and private companies, financial statements, M&A deals, and executives and boards worldwide. By S&P Global.
Note: If you're looking for analyst reports, use LSEG Workspace instead. Learn more.

For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students for academic use only.
Help: Capital IQ access & Excel Plug-in instructions | Capital IQ search help
Orbis This link opens in a new window
Global public and private company profiles. Best for a small number of company or industry look-ups. Because of its broad coverage, Orbis tends to include fewer variables than regional products. By Bureau van Dijk.
For large-scale data, use Orbis Historical.

For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: Orbis access instructions.
Preqin This link opens in a new window
Financial data and information on the alternative assets market worldwide. Data covers private capital and hedge funds, including fund, fund manager, investor and deal information, as well as market-wide benchmarks.

Help: Preqin access help

Google Patent Search
Covers over 7 million patents granted by the United States Patent and Trademark Office. Also offers an Advanced Patent Search page, which allows one to search by patent number, title, inventor, date, etc.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Patent Database
Full-text U.S. patents since 1976, full-page images since 1790.
Foreign Country Patent Databases
A listing of databases compiled by the Swain Library, Stanford University.

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
If you get an error message when trying to connect, see our Capital IQ access FAQ.

Data on public and private companies, financial statements, M&A deals, and executives and boards worldwide. By S&P Global.
Note: If you're looking for analyst reports, use LSEG Workspace instead. Learn more.

For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students for academic use only.
Help: Capital IQ access & Excel Plug-in instructions | Capital IQ search help
Preqin This link opens in a new window
Private equity data including, buyout, venture capital, mezzanine, distressed, fund of funds, secondaries, natural resources, etc.
Quick Guide
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Private U.S. company data, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed companies and startups.

For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: PrivCo access instructions
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
If you're not on the "Stanford" WiFi network, you must use the VPN. See PitchBook access.

Research companies, deals, funds, and investors across the private investment lifecycle worldwide. Great for venture capital (VC) and startup research.

For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: PitchBook accounts | Pitchbook mobile app access | Video tutorials

Factiva This link opens in a new window
News articles from the Wall Street Journal (and WSJ Pro), newswires, national and local newspapers, magazines, trade publications, and transcripts. We don't have API access to Factiva; learn about other options for news text analysis.

For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business journals, trade and industry publications, and news and magazine articles from EBSCO. Includes Harvard Business Review. Mobile apps available.

Stanford GSB Alumni: Access EBSCO
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
One stop shop for ProQuest business content. Includes eBooks, news and magazines, journals, videos, and reports on companies, industries, markets, and countries. Replaces ABI/INFORM.

Stanford GSB Alumni: Access ProQuest One Business

Ask Us