Market & Industry Reports @Stanford
Learn how to find market and industry reports at Stanford, and additional ways to create your own market or industry analysis.
Introduction
The following resources can be used to research market and industry reports.
While these resources are generally the most relevant, there may be other resources available. If you are looking for something in particular or cannot find a lot of information about a niche segment, please Ask Us.
Where to Find Market & Industry Reports
Here are our top suggestions for what databases to use based on what industries or geographies you're looking for.
Can't find the report you want? When searching for reports:
- use different keywords (e.g. clothing, apparel, fashion, etc.).
- search for a broader topic - the reports often have sub-sections that get more specific.
- see alternative market research strategies.
Reports by Industry
The following typically include market reports and data for consumer products and services like retail, food and beverages, etc. The other tabs may be helpful if you're looking for things like consumer tech or solar panels for houses.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowU.S., Global, and China industry reports that cover industry performance drivers. Includes a US Industry Wizard to create lists of industries.
Help: IBISWorld search help
- Mintel This link opens in a new windowMarket research data and reports for consumer products and services. Many reports include Databooks with consumer survey data. U.S. focused with some global coverage. Create and log into your account to save content and download portions of reports.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students. - Insider Intelligence This link opens in a new windowMarket statistics and reports covering many industries (e.g. financial services, health, etc.). Also covers advertising, digital marketing, media, and e-commerce.
- Passport This link opens in a new windowIncludes market research data, reports, and consumer trends worldwide for consumer industries.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: Passport access and search help - MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new windowOur subscription ends April 29, 2024. See other market report providers.
Global market reports from providers including Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, and Simba Information. - FitchConnect This link opens in a new windowCountry risk ratings, macroeconomic analyses and forecasts, and global and emerging market information and market reports for countries or regions worldwide.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: FitchConnect search help - EMIS Intelligence This link opens in a new windowGlobal and emerging market information and market reports for countries or regions worldwide.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
- EIU Viewpoint This link opens in a new windowWorldwide economic indicators and forecasts. Includes current news and regular analysis, reports, and data on countries and industries around the world.
- RKMA Market Research Handbook Series This link opens in a new windowUse these market research handbooks for quick facts and to find more sources. Covers U.S. industries like restaurants, healthcare, sports, and travel.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowS&P stock and bond guides, reports, investment research, and analyst reports. Includes CFRA Industry Surveys (formerly by S&P) under the Industry Surveys tab, which cover very broad industries and focus on the US.
Tech - General
These resources contain market reports and data on various tech industries, products, or services, like wearables, cloud computing, AR/VR, etc.
- IDC This link opens in a new windowGlobal IT, telecom, and consumer tech market reports. Our subscription does not include some data products and reports.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
- BCC Research This link opens in a new windowGlobal market reports for many industries, including materials, pharma, medical devices, engineering, and IT.
- FitchConnect This link opens in a new windowCountry risk ratings, macroeconomic analyses and forecasts, and global and emerging market information and market reports for countries or regions worldwide.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: FitchConnect search help - EMIS Intelligence This link opens in a new windowGlobal and emerging market information and market reports for countries or regions worldwide.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
- MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new windowOur subscription ends April 29, 2024. See other market report providers.
Global market reports from providers including Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, and Simba Information. - SNL Media & Telecommunications (in Capital IQ Pro) This link opens in a new windowNews and data on the media, entertainment, & communications sectors. From S&P Global.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: SNL data access - Insider Intelligence This link opens in a new windowMarket statistics and reports covering many industries (e.g. financial services, health, etc.). Also covers advertising, digital marketing, media, and e-commerce.
Enterprise IT
These resources tend to focus on institutional IT markets and are geared towards IT professionals who need to understand the current market when making procurement or implementation decisions.
- Gartner Research This link opens in a new windowReports relevant to technology, marketing, communications, and HR professionals. Includes market reports, in-depth analysis on issues, trends, and analysis of products on the market in the US and worldwide. Some content/features are not included in Stanford's subscription.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: Learn more about Stanford's access to Gartner from UIT and UHR. - IDC This link opens in a new windowGlobal IT, telecom, and consumer tech market reports. Our subscription does not include some data products and reports.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowS&P stock and bond guides, reports, investment research, and analyst reports. Includes CFRA Industry Surveys (formerly by S&P) under the Industry Surveys tab, which cover very broad industries and focus on the US.
- Insider Intelligence This link opens in a new windowMarket statistics and reports covering many industries (e.g. financial services, health, etc.). Also covers advertising, digital marketing, media, and e-commerce.
Additional Resources
The following resources tend to include reports on engineering-related industries, like semiconductors and electric vehicles.
- BCC Research This link opens in a new windowGlobal market reports for many industries, including materials, pharma, medical devices, engineering, and IT.
- IDC This link opens in a new windowGlobal IT, telecom, and consumer tech market reports. Our subscription does not include some data products and reports.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
- FitchConnect This link opens in a new windowCountry risk ratings, macroeconomic analyses and forecasts, and global and emerging market information and market reports for countries or regions worldwide.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: FitchConnect search help - EMIS Intelligence This link opens in a new windowGlobal and emerging market information and market reports for countries or regions worldwide.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowU.S., Global, and China industry reports that cover industry performance drivers. Includes a US Industry Wizard to create lists of industries.
Help: IBISWorld search help
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowS&P stock and bond guides, reports, investment research, and analyst reports. Includes CFRA Industry Surveys (formerly by S&P) under the Industry Surveys tab, which cover very broad industries and focus on the US.
These resources include reports on various medial-related industries, products, or services like electronic health records, vaccines, orthopedic devices, etc. See also the related tabs for Consumer or Tech-focused market reports too.
- GlobalData Medical This link opens in a new windowMarket research platform for the medical device industry. Includes news, deals, and companies. Downloading options are limited.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: GlobalData access instructions | GlobalData Medical search help
- BCC Research This link opens in a new windowGlobal market reports for many industries, including materials, pharma, medical devices, engineering, and IT.
- FitchConnect This link opens in a new windowCountry risk ratings, macroeconomic analyses and forecasts, and global and emerging market information and market reports for countries or regions worldwide.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: FitchConnect search help - IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowU.S., Global, and China industry reports that cover industry performance drivers. Includes a US Industry Wizard to create lists of industries.
Help: IBISWorld search help
- MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new windowOur subscription ends April 29, 2024. See other market report providers.
Global market reports from providers including Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, and Simba Information. - EMIS Intelligence This link opens in a new windowGlobal and emerging market information and market reports for countries or regions worldwide.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowS&P stock and bond guides, reports, investment research, and analyst reports. Includes CFRA Industry Surveys (formerly by S&P) under the Industry Surveys tab, which cover very broad industries and focus on the US.
- EIU Viewpoint This link opens in a new windowWorldwide economic indicators and forecasts. Includes current news and regular analysis, reports, and data on countries and industries around the world.
Additional Resources
These resources include market reports and information on energy-related industries, products, and services like solar panels or oil.
- GlobalData Power This link opens in a new windowMarket research platform for the renewable power and energy industry. Includes news, deals, and companies. Downloading options are limited. Thermal, Smart Grid, and Nuclear sections are not included.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: See GlobalData access instructions - BCC Research This link opens in a new windowGlobal market reports for many industries, including materials, pharma, medical devices, engineering, and IT.
- FitchConnect This link opens in a new windowCountry risk ratings, macroeconomic analyses and forecasts, and global and emerging market information and market reports for countries or regions worldwide.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: FitchConnect search help - EMIS Intelligence This link opens in a new windowGlobal and emerging market information and market reports for countries or regions worldwide.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowU.S., Global, and China industry reports that cover industry performance drivers. Includes a US Industry Wizard to create lists of industries.
Help: IBISWorld search help
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowS&P stock and bond guides, reports, investment research, and analyst reports. Includes CFRA Industry Surveys (formerly by S&P) under the Industry Surveys tab, which cover very broad industries and focus on the US.
- EIU Viewpoint This link opens in a new windowWorldwide economic indicators and forecasts. Includes current news and regular analysis, reports, and data on countries and industries around the world.
Additional Resources
These resources include market reports and information in media, communications, and telecommunications industries, products, and services. See also the Consumer and Tech tabs.
- SNL Media & Telecommunications (in Capital IQ Pro) This link opens in a new windowNews and data on the media, entertainment, & communications sectors. From S&P Global.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: SNL data access - Insider Intelligence This link opens in a new windowMarket statistics and reports covering many industries (e.g. financial services, health, etc.). Also covers advertising, digital marketing, media, and e-commerce.
- FitchConnect This link opens in a new windowCountry risk ratings, macroeconomic analyses and forecasts, and global and emerging market information and market reports for countries or regions worldwide.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: FitchConnect search help - EMIS Intelligence This link opens in a new windowGlobal and emerging market information and market reports for countries or regions worldwide.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowU.S., Global, and China industry reports that cover industry performance drivers. Includes a US Industry Wizard to create lists of industries.
Help: IBISWorld search help
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowS&P stock and bond guides, reports, investment research, and analyst reports. Includes CFRA Industry Surveys (formerly by S&P) under the Industry Surveys tab, which cover very broad industries and focus on the US.
Additional Resources
Reports for Specific Geographic Locations
- Industry & Market Reports: For Countries & RegionsThis FAQ provides a list of sources to use to find country- or region-specific industry and market reports.
Related Resources
Beyond Market Reports
There are many other ways to find market data or better understand a market. Here are some more resources, or Ask Us for more assistance.