Sports Industry Resources
Introduction
The following resources can be used to research the sports industry, including sub-topics like eSports, Sports Management, and Sports Betting.
While these resources are generally the most relevant, there may be other resources available. If you are looking for something in particular or cannot find a lot of information about a niche segment, please Ask Us.
Industry & Market Reports
These databases contain market & industry reports. They provide overviews of the industry as well as the intended market or end consumer.
- SBRnet This link opens in a new windowU.S. sport business market research data. Understand fan markets and market segments, such as NFL fan demographics or NHL game attendees brand preferences.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowU.S., Global, and China industry reports that cover industry performance drivers. Includes a US Industry Wizard to create lists of industries.
Help: IBISWorld search help
- BCC Research This link opens in a new windowGlobal market reports for many industries, including materials, pharma, medical devices, engineering, and IT.
Additional Resources
Consumer Discovery
Learn about your target consumers. How large is your total addressable market? What are their attitudes or behaviors?
- SBRnet This link opens in a new windowU.S. sport business market research data. Understand fan markets and market segments, such as NFL fan demographics or NHL game attendees brand preferences.
- Mintel This link opens in a new windowMarket research data and reports for consumer products and services. Many reports include Databooks with consumer survey data. U.S. focused with some global coverage. Create and log into your account to save content and download portions of reports.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students. - SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowData analysis and mapping tool with U.S. demographic, housing, employment, consumer spending, marketing data from Mediamark Research (MRI), and EASI Lifestage profiles.
Help: Simply Analytics Guide
Additional Resources
More Sources of Industry Info
In addition to industry and market reports, there are many other ways to analyze an industry, gain insights, and find relevant statistics and data.
Statistics Databases
These databases contain industry statistical data in tables or charts. They're a good place to start as they collect information from many sources.
- SBRnet This link opens in a new windowU.S. sport business market research data. Understand fan markets and market segments, such as NFL fan demographics or NHL game attendees brand preferences.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistics on many topics, industries, and markets. Use the Source tab on the chart page to track down more data. Go to Insights > Consumer Insights to get country-level consumer behavior and brand preference data.
- RKMA Market Research Handbook Series This link opens in a new windowUse these market research handbooks for quick facts and to find more sources. Covers U.S. industries like restaurants, healthcare, sports, and travel.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Note: RKMA contains two reports: Sports Marketing 2022 and Sports: Impact Of The Pandemic.
- Rodney Fort's Sports Business Data PagesPublic dataset compiled by University of Michigan professor of Sport Management Dr. Rod Fort. Data covers economics and statistics for U.S. professional and collegiate sports. Begin with document, "ReadMeFirst"
Associations & Regulators
Industry associations and regulators (both in governments and independent agencies) often have great information. Look for sections on their websites like "Resources", "Publications", or "Data," but note some resources may be restricted to members.
Examples of sports industry associations and regulators are:
- National Governing Bodies of SportNational Governing Bodies (NGB) of Sports are non-profit, non-governmental organizations responsible for promoting and developing a particular sport within a nation.
- Major League BaseballUnited States professional baseball organization.
- NCAAThe National Collegiate Athletic Association is a member-led organization dedicated to the well-being and lifelong success of college athletes.
Additional Resources
Subtopics
Along with previously listed sources presented in this guide, these resources are concerned with the eSports industry and content found in databases, books and journal articles.
- Insider Intelligence This link opens in a new windowMarket statistics and reports covering many industries (e.g. financial services, health, etc.). Also covers advertising, digital marketing, media, and e-commerce.
Search Tip: Enter esports in search box.
ESports is Business : management in the World of Competitive Gaming [print copy]
An insightful read for scholars researching innovation, eBusiness and strategy, this book takes a pioneering approach and examines potential implications for the future of eSports.
ESports Research and Its Integration in EducationThe book covers empirical studies that help practitioners to understand how esports is developing within and around learning institutions and what the impact may be on students and their contemporary educational experiences.Handbook of Research on Pathways and Opportunities into the Business of ESports
This book addresses the intersection of esports gaming and the business and industry of esports, rather than an exploration of the video games themselves. It is the supporting and intersecting industry driven by esports and the vast opportunities this brings that are the foci of this book.
Along with previously listed sources presented in this guide, these resources are dealing with the topics associated with sports management, which include resources such as books and journals articles.
Sports Business Management : Decision Making Around the Globe [print copy]
With a focus on management, strategy, marketing and finance, the decision-making approach of the book emphasizes key concepts while translating them into practice.Encyclopedia of Sport Management
Covers the academic and practical areas within the field of sport management.
Along with previously listed sources presented in this guide, these resources are concerned with sports betting and content found in databases and journal articles.
- Insider Intelligence This link opens in a new windowMarket statistics and reports covering many industries (e.g. financial services, health, etc.). Also covers advertising, digital marketing, media, and e-commerce.
- LSEG Workspace This link opens in a new windowFinancial terminal from the London Stock Exchange Group (formerly Thomson Reuters and Refinitiv). Provides access to global pricing data (stocks and bonds), company fundamentals, I/B/E/S estimates, ESG data, deals and league tables, analyst reports, and more. Replaced Eikon.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: LSEG Workspace access information | Video Tutorials | Analyst/Equity Reports
Search Tip: Eikon contains analyst reports for public companies involved in sports betting. These reports can also provide some industry commentary along with company profiles.