Pharmaceutical Industry
Introduction
The following resources can be used to research pharmaceutical industry including sub-topics like drug prices, clinical trials, patents, and complementary and alternative medicine.
While these resources are generally the most relevant, there may be other resources available. If you are looking for something in particular or cannot find a lot of information about a niche segment, please Ask Us.
Pharmaceutical Market & Industry Reports
These databases contain market & industry reports. They provide overviews of the industry as well as the intended market or end consumer.
- BCC Research This link opens in a new windowGlobal market reports for many industries, including materials, pharma, medical devices, engineering, and IT.
- BMI This link opens in a new windowCountry risk ratings, macroeconomic analyses and forecasts, and global and emerging market information and market reports for countries or regions worldwide. From Fitch Solutions.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students. - GlobalData Pharma Intelligence Center This link opens in a new windowMarket research platform covering the pharmaceutical industry. Includes databases/modules on drugs, deals, clinical trials, and patents, as well as analysis reports. Ask Us if you need a larger data extract for a Stanford research project.
For: Current Stanford students, staff, and faculty.
Help: GlobalData access instructions. - EMIS Next Business Research This link opens in a new windowGlobal and emerging market information and market reports for countries or regions worldwide.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowU.S., Global, and China industry reports that cover industry performance drivers. Includes a US Industry Wizard to create lists of industries.
Help: IBISWorld search help
Additional Resources
Consumer Discovery / Insights
Number of Medical Procedures and Disease Prevalence
If you're trying to determine the target market for a particular drug, device, or treatment, it can be helpful to know how many people have relevant diseases, conditions, or procedures.
- CDC | Data & StatisticsCovers a wide range of various major diseases. Choose a specific disease from Diseases & Conditions tab.
- HCUPnet Healthcare Cost & Utilization ProjectProvides healthcare statistics and information for hospital inpatient, and emergency departments, as well as a specific diagnosis, surgery, or diagnostic tests.
Mapping & Tables
These tools include data on how many people have a specific disease or condition.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowData analysis and mapping tool with U.S. demographic, housing, employment, consumer spending, marketing data from Mediamark Research (MRI), and EASI Lifestage profiles.
Help: Simply Analytics Guide
Search tip: Select a location then go to the Data tab and select Health > Ailments.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowOnline mapping tool with U.S. demographic, real estate, health, educational, economic, and federal government data.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: PolicyMap Tutorials
Search tip: Choose Health from top level menu > Health Status.
Consumer Behavior & Attitudes
Find out how consumers think about or use healthcare products and services.
- Mintel This link opens in a new windowMarket research data and reports for consumer products and services. Many reports include Databooks with consumer survey data. U.S. focused with some global coverage.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students. - Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistics on many topics, industries, and markets. Use the Source tab on the chart page to track down more data. Go to Insights > Consumer Insights to get country-level consumer behavior and brand preference data.
- Nielsen and NielsenIQ Marketing Data This link opens in a new windowConsumer Panel, PanelView Surveys, Retail Scanner, Ad Intel, PromoData, and Annual Ailments, Health, & Wellness Survey datasets.
For: Current Stanford faculty and PhD students only.
Access: PhD students need to register with their advising faculty. To request access, go to Kilts Center's Marketing Data and select United States > Stanford University from the dropdown list. Each researcher is required to provide Chicago Booth with an annual status report. For questions about access, contact Michael Dula.
- Gallup Analytics This link opens in a new windowGallup's U.S. Dailies, U.S. Social Series, and World Poll data.
Not all variables are available in Gallup Analytics. See also the Gallup World Poll Microdata.
Additional Resources
Pharmaceutical Industry Associations & Regulators
Where to Look for Industry Information
You can find industry statistics and data in many locations. In addition to industry and market reports, there are many other ways to analyze an industry, gain insights, and find relevant statistics and data. Here are some suggested strategies and resources. Not sure where to start? Try Statista.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistics on many topics, industries, and markets. Use the Source tab on the chart page to track down more data. Go to Insights > Consumer Insights to get country-level consumer behavior and brand preference data.
Associations & Regulators
Industry associations and regulating bodies often have lots of relevant data and reports. Look for sections on their websites titled "Resources", "Publications", "Data". Note that some materials may be restricted to members. Some examples are:
- FDA: DrugsThe FDA reviews, approves, and regulates drugs in the US. Their website contains lots of helpful information, including recently approved drugs.
- Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA)Publications, policy views, and press releases.
Additional Resources
Common Questions & Topics
These sources provide drug price data for individual drugs. They are not suitable for a large-scale academic research project.
- MicromedexHistorical drug prices. Go to Other Tools > Red Book, enter the drug name and submit.
- Lexi-CompContains basic drug pricing information, black box warnings, and FDA recalls. Enter drug name in the search field and enter. Select a result under Lexi-Drugs and go to Preparations > Pricing US.
Information on new and ongoing clinical trials worldwide that study the safety of drugs, tests and treatments for diseases.
- CenterWatchProvides information on global clinical trials and results, drug approvals, study grants, in-depth market surveys, industry profiles as well as news and analysis.
- ClinicalTrials.govPublicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions—links to selected publications' abstracts. Find trends, charts, maps, and alerts. The site offers researchers the ability to download study record data for analysis.
- EU Clinical Trials registryProvides information on interventional clinical trials conducted in the European Union (EU) and the European Economic Area (EEA); Also has clinical trials conducted outside the EU / EEA that are linked to European pediatric-medicine development.
Resources to learn more about pharmaceutical patents and how to find patents.
Resources for products and practices that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine. For information on consumer preferences and attitudes towards alternative medicine, use the resources in the Consumer Attitudes section near the top of this page.
- Natural Medicines Comprehensive DatabaseResearch dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies through the Food Herbs & Supplements database, Health & Wellness database, and Sports Medicine database.
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative HealthThe National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) at the NIH explores complementary and alternative healing practices in the context of rigorous science.
- International Bibliographic Information on Dietary SupplementsDatabase of published international, scientific literature on dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, and botanicals.