Nonprofits
Resources to aid in understanding the nonprofit landscape.
Introduction
The following resources can be used to research nonprofits.
While these resources are generally the most relevant, there may be other resources available. If you are looking for something in particular or cannot find a lot of information about a niche segment, please Ask Us.
Nonprofit Organizations
Nonprofit & Foundation Profiles
Research key players or build your own list.
- Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new windowInformation about the largest 10,000 public and private foundations and grantmakers in the U.S. By Candid.
- GuideStar This link opens in a new windowData on IRS registered non-profit organizations. By Candid. Discover the mission, legitimacy, impact, reputation, finances, programs, transparency, and governance of over 1.8 million nonprofits. Includes Form 990 data and PDF images.
Access: 5 simultaneous users. Create an account to save and download/export data.
- Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new windowIncludes National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations.
- BBB Wise Giving AllianceBetter Business Bureau for charities. Links to the National Charity Report Index which notes whether 20 better business standards have been met.
- Charity NavigatorCharity Navigator's rating system examines two broad areas of a charity's performance; their Financial Health and their Accountability & Transparency.
Additional Resources
- BDO'S 2020 Nonprofit Standards Benchmarking SurveyBDO's annual benchmarking survey for the nonprofit sector..
Statistics & Data
Nonprofit statistics and data can be found in many places, including:
- Statista This link opens in a new windowFind statistics around donor cohorts, budgeting and nonprofit spending.
- Giving USA(Latest on Reference. Inquire at i-desk.)
Provides current information about facts and trends in philanthropy.
Find it @ Stanford (Print only). - Research Data on the Nonprofit SectorResearch data on employment and wages for the nonprofit sector from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
- National Center for Charitable StatisticsNational clearinghouse of data on the US nonprofit sector, run by the Urban Institute.
- National Council of NonprofitsThe National Council conducts research and analyzes information to communicate the value of state associations and the nonprofit sector.
Nonprofit Funders
US Grantmakers
Find grant and funding opportunities in the United States.
- Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new windowInformation about the largest 10,000 public and private foundations and grantmakers in the U.S. By Candid.
- Grants.govGreat resource if looking for a federal grant for your nonprofit startup. Also contains other grant information.
- Pivot This link opens in a new windowUse to find funding opportunities to support research. Includes grants and fellowships from public and private sources globally.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students
Help: Pivot accounts and help
Non-US Grantmakers
Find grant and funding opportunities beyond the US.
- European Research CouncilGrants support individual researchers of any nationality and age who wish to pursue frontier research.
- European UnionThe EU provides funding in the form of loans and grants for a broad range of projects and programmes.
- Asia Funding SourcesSources of Grant Funding for Asia-Based Organizations.
Additional Resources
The following resources may also be helpful for researching the nonprofit industry.
Publications on Nonprofits
- Chronicle of PhilanthropyProviding news and information for foundations, corporate grant makers, and people who work for nonprofit, tax exempt organizations in health, education, religion, the arts, and social services.
- Nonprofit QuarterlyNPQ uses a range of media channels to help advance critical conversations that can refine nonprofit and social movement policy and practice.
- Nonprofit TimesThe leading business publication for nonprofit management.
Check print availability.
Additional Resources
- Search Business News & Trade ArticlesOne great way to learn about an industry, market, or product, is to scour news and industry media outlets for information.