Enterprise Technology Industry
Introduction
The following resources can be used to research the enterprise technology industry including sub-topics like blockchain, cybersecurity, and cloud computing.
While these resources are generally the most relevant, there may be other resources available. If you are looking for something in particular or cannot find a lot of information about a niche segment, please Ask Us.
Information Technology Industry & Market Reports
These databases contain market & industry reports. They provide overviews of the industry as well as the intended market or end consumer.
- IDC This link opens in a new windowGlobal IT, telecom, and consumer tech market reports. Our subscription does not include some data products and reports.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
- Gartner Research This link opens in a new windowReports relevant to technology, marketing, communications, and HR professionals. Includes market reports, in-depth analysis on issues, trends, and analysis of products on the market in the US and worldwide. Some content/features are not included in Stanford's subscription.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: Learn more about Stanford's access to Gartner from UIT and UHR. - Faulkner's Advisory for IT Studies This link opens in a new windowReports on the IT and communications industries in multiple sectors.
Additional Resources
Business-to-Business Discovery
Learn about enterprise information technologies and the business-to-business (B2B) landscape. Use DB Hoovers' CRUSH reports to learn about which applications companies are currently using, how the technologies are applied, and technology business drivers.
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new windowWeb platform with current information about millions of public and private companies worldwide. Includes financials, SWOT reports, IT strategy, some industry and analyst reports, and more. See also available D&B historical datasets.
Stanford GSB Alumni: Access D&B Hoovers
Help: D&B Hoovers search help
Where to Look for Industry Information
In addition to industry and market reports, there are many other ways to analyze an industry, gain insights, and find relevant statistics and data.
Statistics Databases
These databases contain industry statistical data in tables or charts. They're a good place to start as they collect information from many sources.
- Insider Intelligence This link opens in a new windowMarket statistics and reports covering many industries (e.g. financial services, health, etc.). Also covers advertising, digital marketing, media, and e-commerce.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistics on many topics, industries, and markets. Use the Source tab on the chart page to track down more data. Go to Insights > Consumer Insights to get country-level consumer behavior and brand preference data.
Associations & Regulators
Industry associations and regulators (both in governments and independent agencies) often have great information. Look for sections on their websites like "Resources", "Publications", or "Data," but note some resources may be restricted to members.
Examples of Information Technology industry associations and regulators are:
- Business Software Alliance (BSA)The largest international IT industry group, with policy, legal and educational programs in 80 countries.
- Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA)"Voice and advocate for the $5 trillion global information technology ecosystem; and the estimated 75 million industry and tech professionals who design, implement, manage, and safeguard the technology that powers the world’s economy."
- Information Technology Industry Council (ITIC)The advocate and thought leader for the information and communications technology industry.
- Software & Information Industry Association (SIAA)The principal trade association for the software and digital content industries.
Additional Resources
Common Topics (Blockchain, Cybersecurity, Cloud Computing)
These resources contain reports or statistics about blockchain technology. Related keywords include: cryptocurrency, decentralized finance, and distributed ledgers.
- BCC Research This link opens in a new windowGlobal market reports for many industries, including materials, pharma, medical devices, engineering, and IT.
- Deloitte's 2021 Global Blockchain Survey"Deloitte’s 2021 Global Blockchain Survey affirms that banks should embrace their inevitable digital future. In a seismic shift, financial leaders increasingly see digital assets as the future."
- EMIS Intelligence This link opens in a new windowGlobal and emerging market information and market reports for countries or regions worldwide.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
- IEEE International Conference on Blockchain (Blockchain)Proceedings from the annual IEEE International Conference on Blockchain.
These resources contain reports or statistics for cybersecurity and data privacy.
- Cybersecurity & Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA) Publications LibraryReports, recommendations, and fact sheets about cybersecurity practices.
- FitchConnect This link opens in a new windowCountry risk ratings, macroeconomic analyses and forecasts, and global and emerging market information and market reports for countries or regions worldwide.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: FitchConnect search help
- The International Association of Privacy Professionals (IAAP) Resource CenterReports, infographics, and white papers about data privacy (collection also features publications from government researchers and other trade associations).
- WSJ Pro CybersecurityCybersecurity news, analysis and insights from WSJ's global team of reporters and editors.
Help: WSJ.com access and accounts (accounts must be renewed each year).
These resources contain reports for cloud computing technologies, also known as: software as a service (SaaS) and platform as a service (PaaS).
- BCC Research This link opens in a new windowGlobal market reports for many industries, including materials, pharma, medical devices, engineering, and IT.
- EMIS Intelligence This link opens in a new windowGlobal and emerging market information and market reports for countries or regions worldwide.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowU.S., Global, and China industry reports that cover industry performance drivers. Includes a US Industry Wizard to create lists of industries.
Help: IBISWorld search help