Journal & News Articles
- Qmed NewsTop news stories from the medical device industry.
- Business Source CompleteFull-text articles from business journals and trade publications.
- Article SearchUse this search engine to find articles in the journals In Vivo, Medtech Insight, and Start-up. Then, come to the Library to gain access to the journal sites below.
- Medtech InsightInquire about login details at the Business Library.
Print ed. (Sept. 2004-) also available. - In VivoInquire about login details at the Business Library.
Print ed. (July/Aug. 2004-) also available. - Start-upInquire about login details at the Business Library.
Print ed. (Jan. 2008-) also available.
In-depth profiles of leading-edge companies and technologies, including the most important new trends in the biopharma, medtech and diagnostics industries. - LexisNexis AcademicIncludes Medical Device Law Weekly, Medical Device Business Week, Medical Device Daily, International Medical Device Regulatory Monitor, Devices & Diagnostics Letter, Cardiovascular Device Liability Week, FDAnews Device Daily Bulletin, Cardiovascular Device Business.
- Factiva
Provides comprehensive coverage for full-text newspapers, magazines, newswires, company financials, and stock quotes. Includes Wall Street Journal (June 13, 1979-). - ABI-INFORM GlobalFull text business/management articles.
Statistical Sources
- Frost & Sullivan: Healthcare
Market Reports on the global healthcare market. - TableBase
Tabular statistics on companies, products, industries, countries, and markets.
Note: 3 simultaneous users
Jump Start Guide - OECD iLibrary
Full text publications from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development.
Associations
- The Medical Device Manufacturers Association (MDMA)A national trade association representing independent manufacturers of medical devices, diagnostic products, and health care information systems.
- Advanced Medical Technology Association (AdvaMed)An international association for companies producing medical devices, diagnostic products and health information systems.
Industry & Market Research
- Frost & Sullivan: Healthcare

For current Stanford community, excluding the Office of Technology Licensing
Global healthcare markets.
Request PDF reports - MarketResearch.com Academic
Reports by Packaged Facts (consumer goods), Kalorama Information (health science), Specialists in Business Information, Simba Information (media industry), Executive Summaries, and MarketLook Reports.
Jump-Start Guide - OneSource North America Business Browser
For current Stanford community
Includes Datamonitor reports, BMI Industry Reports
, Freedonia reports
, RMA Industry Norms
Quick Guide - Thomson Investext (via Thomson ONE) (IE browser only) Analyst reports from investment banks and consulting firms. Go to Company View > Research; or go to Screening & Analysis > Research.
- First Research (via ABI/INFORM)
Includes industry overview, recent developments, challenges, opportunities, call prep questions, etc. - Datamonitor Reports (via Business Source Complete)
NOTE: Add "datamonitor" in your search keyword. - U.S. Commercial Service Market Research Library
Market research reports by U.S. Dept. of Commerce.
Note: Free resource, open to all - FDA: Medical DevicesDevice procedures, regulations, guidelines, safety, recalls, research, and news.
- FDA: Medical Device DatabasesIncludes Premarket Approvals (PMA) database, MAUDE (Manufacturer and User Facility Device Experience), Premarket Notifications (510(k)s), etc.
- MedcompareDirectory of medical products, including product features, manufacturers, etc.
Company Research
- Qmed: Medical Device Industry Supplier Directory
- Capital IQ
- Current GSB students: use SUNet ID (6/15-8/31, student access only available via a shared account in Traders Pit.)
- GSB faculty & staff: Use SUNet ID (First time user registration)
- Others: Access in Traders Pit of the Business Library
Provides financial information on companies, private equity, etc. [ Report login problems ] - OneSource North American Business Browser

For current Stanford community
Corporate overviews, financials, analyst reports, etc.
NOTE: 200 simultaneous users
Quick Guide - Orbis
(Alternative search interface: Mint Global)
Profiles public and private companies worldwide. - Thomson ONE (IE Browser only)
Company financials, earning estimates, market data and stock quotes, PE firms, etc.
Spreadsheet Link (Excel Add-in) available on designated computers in Traders Pit of the Business Library.
Spreadsheet Link User Guide (PDF, 3 MB)
For best performance, increase disk space for temporary Internet files to 1000MB. (In IE browser, go to: Tools > Internet Options > General > Browsing history: Settings > Disk space to use: 1000)
Patent Search
- Derwent Innovations Index (Str)

Using information from 41 patent-issuing authorities, DII facilitates rapid, precise patent searching, letting you conduct patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering. Updated weekly, covers 1963-present.
- Google Patent Search Covers over 7 million patents granted by the United States Patent and Trademark Office. Also offers an Advanced Patent Search page, which allows one to search by patent number, title, inventor, date, etc.
- U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Patent Database Full-text U.S. patents since 1976, full-page images since 1790.
- Foreign Country Patent Databases A listing of databases compiled by the Swain Library, Stanford University.
- Patent Search TutorialIn this tutorial developed by Stanford Biodesign you will learn how to use government and other patent searching sites to ensure that your invention meets the specifications needed to file a patent and succeed.

![[photo - Daphne Chang]](http://www.gsb.stanford.edu/jacksonlibrary/images/staff/daphne.jpg)
Loading...
