Connect your ORCID iD to Stanford
Add Biographical Information
You can link to existing social media profiles, your personal website, and other web pages.
When people search for an ORCID record, the results display names and affiliations, so listing Stanford Graduate School of Business in the employment section helps differentiate you from others who may have the same name.
Add Journal Articles and Other Works
Search & Link Wizard
The Search & Link Wizard is the recommended way to add works to your record. These tools allow you to directly import information about publications and other works into your ORCID record from other databases. To access the Search & Link Wizard tool:
- In your ORCID record, go to Works > Add > Search & Link
- Select the integration you would like to link to, and if prompted, authorize the connection.
- Scopus - Elsevier: Use this integration to find and import your publications listed in Scopus databases, which cover a wide range of social science and business journals and other publications.
- If you do not have a Scopus Author ID you will be prompted to create one.
- CrossRef Metadata Search: Use the CrossRef Metadata Search & Link Wizard to search the CrossRef metadata database and add works by title or DOI.
Manually Adding Works
Add Works Using a DOI
If you have a DOI, use it so ORCID will auto-create an entry and ask you to correct any errors.
- On your ORCID record, go to Works > Add > DOI.
- Enter the DOI (either the value or the URL) and click Retrieve work details from DOI.
- Make edits to the entry as needed.
How to Find a Paper's DOI
If you don't have the DOI handy, search online for the article's title and try to locate it on the journal or publisher's website. These pages will often include the DOI, although you might have to click on a link to get a citation or see more details.
To Find and Import a BibTeX File
BibTeX is a file format commonly used for citations that is machine-readable.
Using a BibTeX file can help reduce typing errors rather than adding a citation manually. However, BibTeX files aren't always available.
- Locate the paper in a library database that includes the option to export a citation. You can do this many ways – we like using Google Scholar that is connected Stanford Libraries.
- Look for an option to cite, export, or download the citation. Download the BibTex file (.bib).
- On the ORCID record, go to Works > Add > Add BibTeX.
- Click Choose BibTeX file to import. Select the file and press Open.
- Select the works found and press Import works to your record.
Manually Add Works
Manually add any items that are missing. We suggest using this only as a last resort.
- On the ORCID record go to Works > Add > Add manually.
- Enter all the citation details you have and press Save Changes.
Authorize Trusted Parties to Edit your ORCID iD
Trusted Parties are organizations and individuals that you have granted permission to interact with your iD. This can be used to allow publishers and databases to automatically add new citations to your record and enables others to manage your profile for you.
Auto-updates and Trusted Organizations
Add an external system or database as a trusted organization to automate populating and updating your ORCID record.
If you include your ORCID ID when you submit a work for publication, you can authorize Crossref to automatically update your record when the content is registered and has a DOI.
Auto-updates can be enabled in two ways:
- Use the Search & Link Wizard in the Works section of your ORCID record to connect to external databases like CrossRef Metadata Search.
- Important: Your ORCID iD must be connected to your work in other systems for ORCID to recognize that a publication is yours.
- Add your ORCID iD to your account in other systems and databases.
External integrations can usually be found in your account or profile settings for each organization (Complete list of organizations with ORCID integrations). Three relevant integrations for business researchers:
- Log in to SSRN.
- From SSRN User Home, click My Account.
- Scroll down to the ORCID section of the page and click Connect to your ORCID Record.
- The ORCiD login/password window will open. Sign into ORCiD.
- ORCiD will ask you to authorize SSRN to connect to your account. Click Authorize.
- Scopus Author ID:
- From your author profile navigate to Profile Actions
- Follow the steps to associate your Scopus author profile with your ORCID record
- Web of Science Publons/ResearcherID:
- From your Web of Science Account Profile navigate to Profile Settings > ORCID Settings
- Follow the steps to connect your Web of Science profile to your ORCID record.
To see all of the Trusted Organizations connected to your ORCID, navigate to your ORCID record page, click [your name] > Trusted parties in the top right corner of the page.
Learn more about auto-updates at ORCID Support.
Learn more about trusted organizations at ORCID Support.
You can also authorize trusted individuals to edit your ORCID record for you. For example, if you have a faculty assistant or other partner involved in your work you can give them limited permissions to update and edit your ORCID record. The person you designate must already have an ORCID account - if they don't they can create one here.
To add a Trusted Individual to your ORCID:
- Navigate to your ORCID record page.
- Click [Your name] > Trusted parties at the top right corner of the record page.
- On the Trusted parties page, scroll down to the Trusted Individuals section.
- Enter the ORCID iD, name, or email of the individual you would like to add in the search box and click Search ORCID for trusted individuals.
- To access your account, the trusted individual should log into their ORCID account, click Switch to another account at the top of their record page, and select your account from the drop-down menu.
Trusted individuals can:
- import works and enable auto updates
- authorize linkages to trusted organizations
- add biographical information
- merge and delete duplicate iDs (you will need to verify this action)
Trusted individuals cannot:
- Edit your password
- Edit the email(s) associated with your account
- Delete your account
Learn more about trusted individual permissions at ORCID Support.
You can add funding that you've received using the Search & Link Wizard in the Funding section of your record or add the funding manually:
- Go to Funding > Search & Link > Dimensions and authorize the connection (you will not be prompted to do this if you've already authorized it). Then search to locate the grant or award.
- If you can't find the funding using Dimensions, you can manually add the details through Funding > Add manually.
- Email: It is good practice to have more than one email listed in your ORCID record. Include all emails you publish with as well as a backup email that you will have access to even if you leave Stanford.
- Visibility Preferences: You can set the visibility of parts of your profile and the visibility of your full profile. We recommend you set it to Everyone to get the full benefit of an ORCID iD.
- Remove Duplicate Records: Use the search box in the upper right of your ORCID record to see if you have duplicate records. If you do, you can merge them here so all information from the duplicate record goes to the correct one.
- Note: If a trusted individual merges/removes duplicate record(s), the account owner will need to verify the action using a link that will be emailed to them.
- Downloading your data: You can download data from your ORCID record in your account settings.
- Account settings > Account actions > Download your ORCID data
- Last Updated: Sep 28, 2023 1:49 PM
- URL: https://libguides.stanford.edu/library/orcid
- Print Page