Retail & eCommerce Industry
Introduction
The following resources can be used to research the retail and ecommerce industry.
While these resources are generally the most relevant, there may be other resources available. If you are looking for something in particular or cannot find a lot of information about a niche segment, please Ask Us.
Industry & Market Reports
These databases contain market & industry reports. They provide overviews of the industry as well as the intended market or end consumer.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowU.S., Global, and China industry reports that cover industry performance drivers. Includes a US Industry Wizard to create lists of industries.
Help: IBISWorld search help
- Mintel This link opens in a new windowMarket research data and reports for consumer products and services. Many reports include Databooks with consumer survey data. U.S. focused with some global coverage.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students. - EMARKETER This link opens in a new windowMarket statistics and reports covering many industries (e.g. financial services, health, etc.). Also covers advertising, digital marketing, media, and e-commerce.
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new windowWe have limited downloads. See other options if you need to download thousands of records.
Web platform with current information about millions of public and private companies worldwide. Includes financials, SWOT reports, IT strategy, some industry and analyst reports, and more. See also available D&B historical datasets.
Stanford GSB Alumni: Access D&B Hoovers
Help: D&B Hoovers search help - BMI This link opens in a new windowCountry risk ratings, macroeconomic analyses and forecasts, and global and emerging market information and market reports for countries or regions worldwide. From Fitch Solutions.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: BMI search help.
Additional Resources
Consumer Discovery
The following databases contain demographic profiles such as age, gender, income etc., and also offer data on consumer behavioral characteristics towards purchasing (e.g. brand preference, expenditure habits, popularity trends, etc.). By using the suggested resources, you can identify your target markets and create socio-demographic profiles of your target consumers.
- Mintel This link opens in a new windowMarket research data and reports for consumer products and services. Many reports include Databooks with consumer survey data. U.S. focused with some global coverage.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students. - Passport This link opens in a new windowIncludes market research data, reports, and consumer trends worldwide for consumer industries.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: Passport search help - EMARKETER This link opens in a new windowMarket statistics and reports covering many industries (e.g. financial services, health, etc.). Also covers advertising, digital marketing, media, and e-commerce.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowData analysis and mapping tool with U.S. demographic, housing, employment, consumer spending, marketing data from Mediamark Research (MRI), and EASI Lifestage profiles.
Help: Simply Analytics Guide
Additional Resources
More Sources of Industry Info
In addition to industry and market reports, there are many other ways to analyze an industry, gain insights, and find relevant statistics and data.
Statistics Databases
These databases contain industry statistical data in tables or charts. They're a good place to start as they collect information from many sources.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistics on many topics, industries, and markets. Use the Source tab on the chart page to track down more data. Go to Insights > Consumer Insights to get country-level consumer behavior and brand preference data.
- RKMA Market Research Handbook Series This link opens in a new windowUse these market research handbooks for quick facts and to find more sources. Covers U.S. industries like marketing, restaurants, healthcare, sports, and travel.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowStatistical data from U.S. government publications (1973-), state government and private sources (1981-), and international organizations (1983-).
U.S. Government Statistical Resources
- U.S. Census Bureau | Monthly Retail Trade DataMonthly sales data by industry, including an experimental quarterly e-commerce report.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Retail Trade.Current and historical statistics on workforce in retail trade as a whole and in its 12 individual subsectors, e.g. gasoline stations, Food and Beverage Stores, etc.
Industry Associations
Industry associations often have great information. Look for sections on their websites like "Resources", "Publications", or "Data," but note some resources may be restricted to members.
- National Retail FederationIncludes current industry research reports available to non-members. From the top menu on right, go to Explore > Topics.
- American Apparel and Footwear AssociationIndustry research available to non-members, includes latest hot-topic reports, industry norms and guidellines. From the top menu on right, select Solutions > Tools & Research.
- International Council of Shopping Centers (ICSC)The content of interest available to non-members is Industry Benchmark Report, which is a latest month statistics on the state of marketplace industry. Form the top menu, go to News & Views > Industry Insights.
Additional Resources
Sub-Topics
These resources focus on a specific industry which includes a retail component, or analyse the retail industry for specific markets.
- SBRnet This link opens in a new windowU.S. sport business market research data. Understand fan markets and market segments, such as NFL fan demographics or NHL game attendees brand preferences.
- WWD.com (Women's Wear Daily) This link opens in a new windowOnline site that provides information and news about the fashion industry. Subscription covers recent 12 months only. Includes access to the Digital Daily newsletter.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Access: 3 simultaneous users.
- Sourcing Journal This link opens in a new windowGlobal apparel and textile industry news and analysis.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
- EMIS Next Business Research This link opens in a new windowGlobal and emerging market information and market reports for countries or regions worldwide.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
These databases focus on the technological aspects of the retail business, such as creating digital infrastructure, using AI, automating store activities both in-store and online, business analytics, and more.
- IDC This link opens in a new windowGlobal IT, telecom, and consumer tech market reports. Our subscription does not include some data products and reports.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
For research on retail industry, from the top tabs select Solutions > Industry Insights > IDC Retail Insights.
- Gartner Research This link opens in a new windowReports relevant to technology, marketing, communications, and HR professionals. Includes market reports, in-depth analysis on issues, trends, and analysis of products on the market in the US and worldwide. Some content/features are not included in Stanford's subscription.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: Learn more about Stanford's access to Gartner from UIT and UHR.
- Top 100 RetailersAnnual list of top 100 retailers by sales from the National Retail Association.
- Hot 25 RetailersAnnual list of the 25 fastest growing retail companies from the National Retail Federaion.
- DSN: Direct Selling NewsThe notable feature is Digital Momentum Index that represents a quarterly ranking of top direct selling companies based on their social media and online presence. Find it under the Research tab.