Data and Decisions
OIT 249, OIT 274, OIT 276, and OIT 367.
Popular Topics
This guide will help you find data sources for your regression assignment.
- Start early.
- Identifying a data set that interests you and is appropriate for a regression analysis can take time. You also want to give yourself enough time to understand how your data set is structured; understand what your variables mean and how they are formatted; identify any anomalies in the data; and read any available data documentation.
- Not finding the data you need?
- Ask yourself: Who would be interested in collecting this information?
- Schedule a virtual or in-person consultation with a librarian.
Company and Industry Data
- Compustat (in WRDS) This link opens in a new windowNorth America: annual and quarterly financial statement data (Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items) for most public companies in the U.S. and Canada.
Global: financial and stock market data for public companies in 80+ countries.
EMDB (Emerging Markets Database): covers 53 markets.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students for Stanford-related academic research purposes.
Help: WRDS access and search help - DatastreamHistorical U.S. and global data on stocks, bonds, commodities, futures, currencies, options, company financials, and economic indicators. Includes Worldscope key variables. From LSEG, formerly Refinitiv.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: Datastream access | Datastream search help - Passport This link opens in a new windowIncludes market research data, reports, and consumer trends worldwide for consumer industries.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: Passport access and search help - WRDS SEC Analytics Suite (in WRDS) This link opens in a new windowAllows parsing for millions of SEC filings based on custom criteria. Contains 3.5+ million text and html files for all 10-K, 10-Q, 8-K, Proxy filings, 13D/G, 13F UPLOAD and CORRESP and CT ORDER in SEC EDGAR.
Covers 1994-present. Includes CIK-CUSIP and CIK-GVKEY linking files.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students for Stanford-related academic research purposes.
Help: WRDS access and search help
Economic Data
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsIncludes the Consumer Expenditure Survey and the American Time Use Survey.
- Global Financial Data This link opens in a new windowGlobal coverage of economic and financial time-series and historical data. U.S. and U.K Stocks, Real Estate, and ICE Data modules are not included.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: Global Financial Data search help
- USDA Economic Research ServciceData that informs public and private decision making on economic and policy issues related to agriculture, food, the environment, and rural development.
Most of these international sources include US coverage.
- EIU Viewpoint This link opens in a new windowWorldwide economic indicators and forecasts. Includes current news and regular analysis, reports, and data on countries and industries around the world.
- EMIS Intelligence This link opens in a new windowGlobal and emerging market information and market reports for countries or regions worldwide.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
- Global Financial Data This link opens in a new windowGlobal coverage of economic and financial time-series and historical data. U.S. and U.K Stocks, Real Estate, and ICE Data modules are not included.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: Global Financial Data search help - IMF Data This link opens in a new windowData from International Monetary Fund (IMF) sources, including Balance of Payments Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics, Government Finance Statistics, and International Financial Statistics.
Access: To download data, create an account with your Stanford email.
- Indiastat.com This link opens in a new windowA variety of datasets (including government, agricultural, company, banking, industry, education, and health statistics) about India, its states, and regions.
Help: Indiastat.com access help
- OECD.Stat This link opens in a new windowData and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
- Passport This link opens in a new windowIncludes market research data, reports, and consumer trends worldwide for consumer industries.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: Passport access and search help
Scientific Data
- Energy Information Administration (EIA)Prices, statistics, analysis, charts on traditional and clean energy data.
Highlight: Annual Energy Review – statistical data on production, trade, and consumption starting with 1949- - EPA Environmental Dataset GatewayThe EPA's official open data catalog.
Social Science Data
- Bureau of Transportation StatisticsProvides data on airline on-time performance, pirates at sea, transportation safety and availability, motorcycle trends, and more.
- National Center for Education StatisticsStatistics compiled by U.S. Dept. of Education
- National Center for Health StatisticsThe principal health statistics agency for improving the health of the American people.
- Rand State Statistics This link opens in a new windowA variety of U.S. datasets on social science topics including poverty, demographics, health, education, crime, employment, energy, and government.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowData analysis and mapping tool with U.S. demographic, housing, employment, consumer spending, marketing data from Mediamark Research (MRI), and EASI Lifestage profiles.
Help: Simply Analytics Guide
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowGet data from sources like U.S. Census, American Community Surveys, U.S. Business Patterns, and World Bank. Includes Market Profile Data from EASI covering U.S. consumers.
Help: Social Explorer Video Tutorials
- EurostatEurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
- WHO Statistical Information SystemWorld health statistics, Global Health Observatory (GHO) data.