Financial Markets
Links to resources that can be used to better understand financial markets.
Introduction
The following resources can be used to research the financial markets.
While these resources are generally the most relevant, there may be other resources available. If you are looking for something in particular or cannot find a lot of information about a niche segment, please Ask Us.
Top Financial Databases
These databases are commonly used in industry and can be considered multi-purpose financial data platforms. They will contain information like company or index stock and bond prices, commodities, futures, options, and more.
If you're trying to get a significant amount of data, especially for a paper you intend to publish, you may wish to explore other sources that provide better access to large amounts of data.
- LSEG Workspace This link opens in a new windowFinancial terminal from the London Stock Exchange Group (formerly Thomson Reuters and Refinitiv). Provides access to global pricing data (stocks and bonds), company fundamentals, I/B/E/S estimates, ESG data, deals and league tables, analyst reports, and more. Replaced Eikon.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: LSEG Workspace access information | Video Tutorials | Analyst/Equity Reports - Capital IQ This link opens in a new windowIf you get an error message when trying to connect, see our Capital IQ access FAQ.
Data on public and private companies, financial statements, M&A deals, and executives and boards worldwide. By S&P Global.
Note: If you're looking for analyst reports, use LSEG Workspace instead. Learn more.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students for academic use only.
Help: Capital IQ access & Excel Plug-in instructions | Capital IQ search help - Bloomberg TerminalCurrent and historical market data (individual equities, stock market indices, bonds, and futures) for international and U.S. markets. Includes some analyst reports and Bloomberg news.
Our subscription does not include most Bloomberg New Energy Finance (BNEF) content.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students for Stanford-related academic research purposes.
Help: Bloomberg Terminal access | Bloomberg search help | Bloomberg.com accounts - FactSet This link opens in a new windowGlobal financial markets data, company information, equity, fixed income data, etc.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: FactSet accounts | FactSet search help
- DatastreamHistorical U.S. and global data on stocks, bonds, commodities, futures, currencies, options, company financials, and economic indicators. Includes Worldscope key variables. From LSEG, formerly Refinitiv.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: Datastream access | Datastream search help - Global Financial Data This link opens in a new windowGlobal coverage of economic and financial time-series and historical data. U.S. and U.K Stocks, Real Estate, and ICE Data modules are not included.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students.
Help: Global Financial Data search help - CRSP (in WRDS) This link opens in a new windowStock price, volume, and return data for NYSE and NASDAQ. Produced by the University of Chicago's Center for Research in Securities Prices.
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students for Stanford-related academic research purposes.
Help: WRDS access and search help | How to download CRSP data - TAQ (in WRDS) This link opens in a new windowThe Trade and Quote includes intraday transactions data for securities listed on NYSE, AMEX, Nasdaq National Market System (NMS) and SmallCap issues.
Daily TAQ covers 2003 to present (For 2001-2002, please use Monthly).
Monthly TAQ covers 1993 - 2014 (ceased as of Dec. 2014).
For: Current Stanford faculty, staff, and students for Stanford-related academic research purposes.
Help: WRDS access and search help
Print Publications
- MSCI blue book developed markets
- MSCI red book emerging markets
- Ibbotson SBBI ... classic yearbook : market results for stocks, bonds, bills, and inflation(Latest on Reference. Inquire at i-Desk.)
Find it @ Business Library - Ibbotson SBBI ... valuation yearbook(Latest on Reference. Inquire at i-Desk.)
Find it @ Business Library - World stock exchange fact book(Latest on Reference. Inquire at i-Desk.)
Find it @ Business Library - CRB Commodity Yearbook(Latest on Reference. Inquire at i-Desk.)
Find it @ Stanford